A day off for some

It’s not the 12th yet but some people had the day off today. I didn’t and am a little overwhelmed with work so… I liked this post before and thought I would repeat it:

It is that confusing time of the year again – October 12th. Almost all other countries in the Americas do not recognize Columbus Day, instead, they celebrate the coming together of cultures, of different continents.

Many countries in the New World and elsewhere celebrate the anniversary of Christopher Columbus’s arrival in the Americas, which occurred on October 12, 1492, as an official holiday. The day is celebrated as Columbus Day in the United States, as Día de la Raza in many countries in the Americas, as Día de las Culturas (Day of the Cultures) in Costa Rica, as Discovery Day in the Bahamas, as Día de la Hispanidad and Fiesta Nacional in Spain and as Día de las Américas (Day of the Americas) in Uruguay. These holidays have been celebrated unofficially since the late 18th century, and officially in various countries since the early 20th century.

Personally, I grew up with it being Dia de la Raza. It celebrated my mostly indigenous ancestors that mixed with the French in the Sierra Madre. It was never a question that we were mestizos and it was never a question that we acknowledged both sides. In the U.S., though, my old neighborhood had Italian festivals and I didn’t really get it as a kid. Strange how traditions change based on who is celebrating and whose viewpoint you are experiencing. I think Laredoans rarely have this be a topic of discussion, it doesn’t seem to be a question here. In this area, it seems to just come and go without any fanfare whatsoever – no indigenous outcry and no Italian victory dances, just a day off for some.

Even Wikipedia has a different type of entry for the above Columbus Day and below for Dia de la Raza which is described country by country.

As for me, I am in Abilene where I have had a few conversations with good people who don’t realize that their use of the words “wetback” and “illegals” make me cringe. I gently say excuse me but that is offensive but it is as ingrained into the culture as Columbus Day is in the U.S. mainstream (Laredo is not the mainstream). If change starts with one, then I say, let’s celebrate the uniqueness of our different cultural traditions coming together.

Yeah, that’s it. Dia de los Fregados 🙂 (in the nicest of ways)

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A day off for some

  1. YayaOrchid says:

    I also feel offended when I hear those words. I prefer the term ‘undocumented’, there is nothing illegal about searching for a better way of life. Just as those who came out ‘west’ of the pond and west of the US east coast came to Mexican and Spanish territories looking for a better life.

    • Me to there’s nothing wrong for a batter life in this side of the US. That makes me think of my father and grandfather they also came in to the U.S undocumented a long time ago they fought there right to stay in the U.s.a. they both are professional construction workers yes in deed a batter life Thanks to then we my family with life. in the memory of my grandfather Agustin Maya the havens yelled his name and was called for a need of a helping hand for the big boss our havenly father up in havens to build more havenly homes for us all no matter our differences just like he came to the U.s.a. for a better life and became a construction worker he went to help God make a better havenly homes for us all and yes in deed he in a better place may he rest in peace amen.

  2. On this day link to Columbus day as we all know in every state there’s a different state of mind in every country there’s a different culture in every ones life there’s a different celebrations in every single of us there’s a different world in our minds so I say in the most nicest way QUE VIVA MI RAZA Y QUE FREGADOS I’M HISPANIC AND PROUD!! BUT GLAD I’M IN THE US.GOD BLESS US ALL NO MATTER OUR DIFFERENCES QUE NO WHAT I MEAN ANT THAT RIGHT.

  3. I also get offended when we mexicans and hispanics get called wetbacks or mexicanitos dont like it a bit but those who think of us that way I say wet red tomatoes. Ones again I say VIVA MI RAZA Y THE PEOPLE OF QUE FREGADOS!!.

  4. ___Mocteczuma says:

    ___my ancestors and i were standing on the shores when that hillbilly Colon (think Colonoscopy) arrived in his three silly little boats . . . (we should have kicked his ass back to Europe at that time)

    • On a day for some hillbilly’s which I like the turm off wet red tomatoes which some of then also came into the U.s. crossing from one border to an other which they think are the only ones that have the right to be live in the U.s. just because it’s the united states of america what part of the word they dont under stan which starts with the word united we all have the right to live in U.s. and have our rights to fight our right to stay in the U.s. it is funny when some people say to some of us wetbacks or mexicans when some of then have the big capital Mexican.American’s on there forheads having it in there blood no dot us wetbacks or not we hard working people that we dare to work in jobs they don’t dare so thanks to us people they have the businesses they have!!. Viva mi Raza which stands for my. people

  5. Anonymous says:

    So? Youre telling me..I should embrace that Mexican National who cuts in line in front of me at HEB,and ChicFila? The Same one who push my little girl out of the way when we are at the mall? The same people who park their cars anywhere they please in downtown Laredo? I would get a ticket. Viva La Raza!

    • Pedro says:

      Same thing has happen to me but i don’t let them why i say excuse me i’m in line is not fare we waiting in line for you to cut inline if we can wait you can wait or is been times the person behind counter sees person cutting in and makes that person cutting in to go the very back of line if they dont like it and starts getting to me i act back. They just think are the only ones that have to do things and to go other places they that come from mexico to the U.s. and go back thats why they do what they do.But not all coming from mexico or mexicans are others to you know and not every one act or do the same. It’s like me saying only because i found a chinese guy with my girlfriend i’m going to start hateing all chinese guys no not every chinese guy act the same or do the same.

Leave a comment