Fix my bike!

While I love the idea of Ciclo Mania helping people get back on bicycles by helping them get back into top shape, I am just not so sure they are ready for all bikes. This was the generous offer posted on the Pedalheads FB group:

Attention Pedalheads Laredo !!!!… It’s fix your flat day at Laredo Ciclo Mania.. If you own a bike and it doesn’t work for whatever reason .. Bring it to Laredo Ciclo Mania THIS SATURDAY ONLY!!!!!!!…. BEST OF ALL IT’S FREE!!!!!…..YES FREE!!!!! Zip!!!.. Zero!!!….. Nada!!!! absolutely free!!.. If your bike needs a tube, chain, etc!!! Bring it on Saturday and pay nada!!!!..first come first serve!!!… So get your bike ready and come to Laredo ciclo mania on Saturday !!!.. This is brought to you by … Laredo ciclo mania, Pedalheads Laredo, Eric @ Big River Foundation!….Let’s get everyone on a bike!!! Tell us what you think … And give us a head count if your coming!!!!!

That is an extremely generous offer but when you have a bike like…

My trike in the dining room 😦

In the 1st place, it is technically a tricycle, not a bicycle. Secondly, there is more rust on that chain than there is metal holding it together. The dream was (because there should always be a dream behind your treasured possessions) for me to restore the tricycle that my brother built from spare parts, including the tractor seat. He lovingly gave it to me on the condition that I restore it and ride it. I don’t even know where to start :(.

So, Mr. Chapa from Ciclo Mania, do you really think there is any hope? Maybe there is and I am underestimating exactly HOW generous they want to be with their time.

For now, I will stick to the other hand-me-down bicycle that my brother gave me. Although it does have a crooked back tire and brakes that rub, the official press release looks like the offer requires bike riding that same day and I have other (see previous post) commitments.

Got a bike that’s not trail ready?
Got a whole garage full of them?
Can’t afford the parts?
Been wondering where to ride in Laredo?

Have we got a deal for you!

Cyclo-Mania, Club Level X and Pedalheads Laredo team up to offer free mountain bicycle repair clinics and rides. Bring an old bike in need of tire, chain, spoke or other repair to our first clinic at Cyclo-Mania. We’ll pay for the parts & show you how to install them FREE.

Afterwards you’re invited to join us for a ride on the beautiful Shiloh trails. Saturday’s ride starts at 6:30, p.m. Sunday’s is at 8 a.m.

Cyclomania; 7913 McPherson, Suite 104
Saturday, March 17; 11:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Sponsored by The Big River Foundation, courtesy of a Community Outdoor Outreach Program from the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department.

Just because I will miss out (and I just realized from the release this is for mountain bikes – darn), does not mean that you should. Get your bike out to LAREDO CICLO MANIA and get it tuned up in time for the ride through Shiloh Trails!

Someday, I may see you there. For now, I will stick to the flatter roads of downtown and Los Dos Laredos Park on my crooked-wheel, squeaky brake, hand-me-down bike.

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fix my bike!

  1. Poncho1950 says:

    LOL. It’s easy to oil the chain ( dab it with a bristle-type paint brush soaked in 3-in-One oil), and virtually everything else is identical to bikes. Hubs, crank and headset (where the steering mechanism connects with the frame) can be disassembled and packed with grease and bearings replaced. Wheels can be trued, spokes replaced, etc. The only thing unique to a trike is the differential. (Differentials were invented for tricycles and later adapted for use in cars.)

    • Que Fregados says:

      Did I just hear you volunteering to come down to fix it? Just kidding. I have repaired bikes with my brother leading in the past but… the trike has really been my own laziness. He is incredibly creative and builds, builds, and builds but I write, write and write. I have to dedicate time to fixing his gift so thank you for the suggestions.

  2. haha! QF- but if you fixed that bike, where would you store all your books in your dining room? 🙂 Great place for it, though- Love it as decor!

  3. Pingback: $22 for a Basic Bicycle Tune-Up at Canyon Sports/BTC ($45 Value) » Get your daily Groupon deals

  4. Pingback: Flat-Tire Repair, Bike Tune-Up, or Parts and Accessories at Bikes Plus (Up to 64% Off) » Get your daily Groupon deals

Leave a Reply

