A small break for schmoozing, but life moves on

I come back from a great time The Social Revolucion at SXSW’s to warnings by the U.S. Consulate due to violence in Nuevo Laredo. I would not have known had I not heard the buzz of helicopters overhead for a while. Usually, they will fly on by in general sweeps but when it is steady… you know something is up. The U.S. Consulate issued an emergency message that started off with:

Emergency Message (March 13, 2012)
Gun battles in Nuevo Laredo

The Consulate General in Nuevo Laredo has received reports of ongoing gun battles throughout the city of Nuevo Laredo. We advise those in Nuevo Laredo not to leave their homes until the situation is resolved.

Que triste (how sad). Despite the recent killings of cartel leaders, new leaders take their place and continue the carnage. My ears will be perked to see what the mainstream media has to report. El Tiempo de Laredo carried a snippet of the warning, also.

I have no business cards, instead I passed out my badly-made mini-buttons.

Let me close with a quick message about the event I attended in Austin. I wasn’t the only one with ties to Laredo partaking of the festivities.

Aside from Victoria from Open Art being my companion, former resident and arteeest, Eduardo Garcia was also representing along with former KGNS reporter, Jackie Gil. I got a chance to meet a few other folks I had only read about. It was a bit dark so these are very few of the photos I was able to take that are visible.

The crowd starts to build near the free photograph area with props provided

The Revolucionario Awards being presented

The t-shirt shop set up for participants to choose their color and design for a t-shirt made while you wait

The requisite Austin kookiness - there were plenty of examples, I just didn't have my camera ready

Spring break is always a happening time. Unfortunately for Los Tigres del Norte, they won’t be happening anywhere near Juarez, Chihuahua in Mexico, the border city across from El Paso. The San Antonio Express reports that because of their narcocorridos (songs in the oral history tradition but the “narco” part has the focus being on the cartels and many glorify the lifestyle). Apparently they violated a new city ordinance:

The Chihuahua city government said the band violated a three-month-old city ordinance prohibiting songs that glorify traffickers, and that the concert’s organizers would be fined “at least 20,000 pesos” ($1,585).

The band appeared Saturday at a concert organized as part of a cattle expo.

Lastly, talking about music… a big shout out to the Notre Dame Glee Club performing in Laredo (today, March 13rd). The concert will be taking place at the Bill Johnson Student Activity Center Auditiorium. Their press release states:

Michael Gonzalez, a native Laredoan, 2002 alumnus of the University of Notre Dame and Laredo’s only alumnus of the Notre Dame Glee Club is proud to help bring the group to his hometown. “The Notre Dame Glee Club brings a rich tradition of excellence in music that I truly believe that Laredo will enjoy” says Gonzalez.

Hope all goes well – sounds like a great program but alas, I cannot attend.

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A small break for schmoozing, but life moves on

  1. Great post, QF! I wish I could have attended the Austin meet-up! Looks like fun- even in the dark!

    • Que Fregados says:

      Would have loved for you to go! It was much more informal that we thought it would be. You came to my mind every time someone asked for my business card, luckily I had a bunch of mini-buttons in my car. Next time, I will be prepared!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Your ZESt for the cutlures,,,for the arts…and for life itself is clearly evident in your post! Orale! JS 🙂

Leave a Reply

