LIFE Fair 2012

Why had no one told me all the fun was during the day at the LIFE Fair? This post was intended to be written when the LIFE (Laredo International Fair & Exposition) was taking place but… nature got in the way.

Being a city… well, not really a city-girl but a non-farmer, I had only attended the LIFE Fair during the evening entertainment to watch the book cover models announced. This year, I was asked to help judge the baked goods. The many different categories meant many different judges. That was a good thing because having to taste 10 different items meant a massive sugar rush.

Before the judging begins

The art displays by the schools were remarkable. I saw these great works and was wowed by the skill at such a young age.



What I didn’t know is that area schools make this a field trip which makes perfect sense. There can be a whole lotta learning that can take place so I hope that is what the kids were doing.

The biggest lessons are for those students who actually take on the challenge of raising an animal. It is not only raising them but having them fit certain standards all in preparation for competition and auction.

Unfortunately, I was not able to stay long at the LIFE Fair. I unfairly blamed the baked goods judging when I started to feel a little woozy. But how could tasting a few baked items make me sick right away? They didn’t.

I was knocked down by the sudden onset of the flu and barely made it home before any cake could be judged by my belly, not just my tastebuds. By the sound of those who attended to see Solido on Friday and Tracy Lawrence on Saturday, it seemed to be a great time. Maybe next year.

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to LIFE Fair 2012

  1. Anonymous says:

    Participating and “being a part of” something as wonderful as LIFE should be mandatory for all students in Laredo. All neighborhoods…all barrios…all events…all categories. Mandatory participation as a contestant or helping out with events. All students all schools…all grades!

  2. lisasjm says:

    Wow! I took my kids on Saturday in the day time and I didn’t see any baked goods or student art work. I guess we were too late for all of that. Still, it was wonderful. My 5 and 8 year olds met a 10 year old girl with a pig twice her size and she asked them to help her feed it! Then they met a 6 year old who had raised a goat that he was so proud of. All of the animals live and up close was a piece of childhood fairs that I remember and did not want them to miss out on. Sad that I’ve been here 6 years and this was my first visit to the fair. I highly recommend it for families with kids. Don’t wait 6 years to check it out like I did.

  3. MaryHelen says:

    We took our 5 year old granddaughter to LIFE on Saturday to see the animals and be up close with them. She was in heaven! She had already told us that she wanted to be a veterinarian when she grows up so we knew she’d have a wonderful time. Of course, the corn dogs, cotton candy, and the $1.00 box of firecracker “pops” helped enhance her enjoyment as well. And she looked so cute in her pale pink cowgirl hat! šŸ™‚

  4. I hated to miss the fair this year! So much to do that day! I cannot believe that beautiful artwork!!!!

Leave a Reply

