Yikes – anti-Laredo viral video starts up

People watching this video can obviously spot the false info that this woman believes and lack of maturity by even posting such a video but… this video is going viral as I type. In only 2 hours, it has already sprouted a copy and is being shared on facebook and twitter.

I debated on whether to post the video or not but I thought it best to post with my thoughts and opinions. As at least a few comments state, there is no need to make threats or taunt her, she is unhappy enough. Eventually, she will implode with her own negativity and prejudice. It takes a lot of inner hate to put out so much – and on video, and invite comments to top it off; but, nobody wins when we put out the same viciousness that she puts out in this video – so just let her be.

There are thousands of transplants to Laredo, including su servidora, who adapt and create their own great experiences in their adopted city. Of course, we all go through good and bad moments; but, I don’t think any of my out-of-town friends who have now made Laredo home are as miserable as Sara. A friend quoted Emma Goldman when she shared this racist, hateful video, “The most violent element in society is ignorance.”

UPDATE:

I have deleted her video copy. She is a very young woman who is making some major mistakes. She does not deserve mistreatment.

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Yikes – anti-Laredo viral video starts up

  1. gabetexas says:

    Right on. This young woman has enough going on.

  2. Raul says:

    Sticks and stones.

  3. Cristina says:

    Hey you might want to alter your tags for this post, too!

  4. Big Al says:

    In my opinion, Laredo is one of the best examples of the kind of community that whole-heartedly embraces you as one of its own… if you’re at least open to that embrace!!!

  5. Ed says:

    I’m a transplant and I love it.

  6. Tati says:

    I’ve felt the way she has in this town… I’m lucky to speak Spanish, otherwise, my life would be very complicated. I’m not particularly sad over living here anymore, it just is what it is…
    Oddly, my first instinct wasn’t to validate her but rather, defend Laredo… then, I took a step back and realized how we have all made similar complaints; what separates us from her is just her xenophobia…

  7. Anonymous says:

    Well said, QF. I work with transplants to our city every day. Negativity comes from fear, they feel disconnected from their families that they moved away from and disconnected by our blended culture and language. They put up a wall of fear and build a fortress of it around them. I grew up here and am so fortunate for that unique experience to have had one foot in Laredo and the other in Nuevo Laredo, Mexico. I know many, many families and individuals who are making the best of their experience here, learning Spanish, embracing the culture, and those are the ones that inspire me. They’ll be successful wherever they land, and will take the richness of each place they live with them. I feel sorry for this young lady; she is trapped in the ignorance and fear of her own mind.

  8. Have not seen the video, either, but I am not a native and I too, love Laredo. I am not in the majority for ethnicity, either. Every place is what you make of it.

    If anyone knows how I may get in touch with the young lady that posted the video, please let me know so I can invite her to a Newcomers meeting. It sounds like she is incredibly lonely.

  9. Kari says:

    Military spouses have a saying: “Home is where the (insert branch name here) sends you.” She should just try to make the most of where she lives. It has been 5 yrs since I last lived in Laredo. I look forward to my once a yr visit.

  10. Joey says:

    A lot of what she says about Laredo is true. I live there also, but can adapt.

    She didn’t even mention the fact that here, there is no sense of personal space. You can be standing in line at HEB and the person will get so close to you, they are almost touching your back.

  11. blanca says:

    If anything i feel extremely sad for her. I love laredo because well i grew up there and have fond memories. The things she complains about are the same things that happen in OK *where i live now*. She is just so hateful and racist! It’s hard not to get mad, but I wouldn’t threaten her. Some of the things she said are true. It’s not a laredo only thing.

  12. btblues says:

    Kudos for stance QF. Videos, shmideos. Lots to love and hate in any burg or hamlet. No need to move in the direction of threats–figurative or otherwise.

  13. Anonymous says:

    I wouldn’t move any where else. I’m also a transplant and I love it here. I identify with the people and wouldn’t change it for anything.

  14. i didn’t catch the vid but i can vouch as i have another member in this household who has called this town “hell” in no uncertain more colorful terms to which i respond ‘well you found me here, so thanks!’ …o.O *gessshh*

  15. Paul Cavazos says:

    I feel sorry for her kids and her husband. I have been an expatriate myself and have sent people to live and work in Godforsaken places and found that women and kids adapt better an quicker than the men. This lady is probably from a small town and with no formal education. Imagine if women like her would have come with the Pilgrims and the pioneers.? We would still be bowing to Queen Elizabeth.!

Leave a Reply

