Readers ask, Part 2

Norma wanted me to:

you could blog about blogs! check out my new one elcaminoayearlater@wordpress.com

Many of you may have been her student in the past when she taught at TAMIU and Laredo State University – or maybe currently are her student if you are at UTSA. I had her as a friend who invited me to sweatlodge and ran in similar circles. This past year, she had the opportunity to make the 500 mile walk called El Camino de Santiago. Dr. Norma Cantu has just started blogging El Camino A Year Later. This is her about page:

I first learned about the Camino de Santiago, the pilgrimage path to Santiago de Compostela, in 1979 when I first went to Spain on a Fulbright to research Pastorelas (Shepherds’ Plays) for my dissertation. At that time and in subsequent trips to Spain in 1985 and especially since 1990, I yearned to make the trek, dreamed of walking the ancient path of the stars, el Camino de Santiago. Last winter, I finally made the 500 mile long walk–following el Camino Frances, across northern Spain. This special blog is where I will reflect on my walk during December 17,2010-February 1, 2011–I am calling it an “immersion memoir” and in each daily entry, I will reflect on what I was doing the year before. I am not sure if I will stop blogging about El Camino on February 9, exactly one year after I came back to San Antonio, or if I will continue as I plan to go on another pilgrimage in the coming years.

Becky just says:

QUE FREGADOS !!!!! Two of my favorite words!!!!

Erika B. tells me what I already know, but I have been looking… :

You need a guest blogger every now and then . . . you know, to take a day off. . . 🙂

Maybe Erika can submit something, possibly showcase some of her artwork or upcoming activities? What do you say Erika??

Erika D. makes sure to invite us
this Thursday to the art reception for the Latino’s with HIV on World AIDS Day, December 1, 2011.


Diana S. had a great idea!:

What if we started a blog that would alert our municipal authorities to areas that need cleaning, or make suggestions or recommendations on how we can keep our city safer for our kids. Just a thought..

I bet this is something that the city of Laredo can actually do internally without a huge dollar impact. It only takes some support personnel to be directly assigned and that personnel given support so it is not one more task on some very full city employee plates.

Of course, Diana, there should be nothing to stop you by kicking something off – or at the least contributing blog posts about this topic to Que Fregados!

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Readers ask, Part 2

  1. Oh! A new Laredo blog? I’ll have to add it to the Living In Laredo Laredo Blogs Tab!

  2. I saw that….I didn’t realize it was a temp blog, though-….thanks!

  3. YayaOrchid says:

    I just want to say Thank You for including me in your blog roll. 🙂

Leave a Reply

