Pulga (Flea Market) Sunday!

Our household up North and in Laredo, Texas may have successfully avoided the dreaded and over-hyped Black Friday, bought only a few house necessities during Small Business Saturday and will definitely be skipping Cyber Monday but… we could not get away from PULGA SUNDAY!!

Check out one Laredoan’s experience on Black Friday and the reason to say “why bother?” (or in my case, Que ****gados!!):

Yes, dear readers, so if American Express can coin the Small Business Saturday then this little blog can coin Pulga Sunday for all your flea market finds that turn into future presents.

One Sunday didn’t seem long enough to cover all the local flea markets, but your bigger, more popular ones are the Border Town Flea Market on Highway 359, Guadalupe & Heights Street Markets (the flea complex :P) on Guadalupe Street, the Laredo Flea Market on Park Street (small but plenty of dancing on the weekends) and the Santa Fe Flea Market on Zapata Hwy (smaller and smaller at every visit).

Santa Fe Village, 530 S Zapata Hwy, Laredo


Heights Market Square, 2502 Guadalupe St, Laredo


The Guadalupe Market Square, 2400 Guadalupe Street, Laredo


Border Town Flea Market, Highway 359, Laredo


Laredo Flea Market, 1900 Park St, Laredo


There were two other flea markets that just didn’t take off. The Plaza Santa Maria Flea Market and the Las Palmas Flea Market. As with most businesses, when there are no clients, there is no business.


With the after Thanksgiving weekend stretch, which now seems to be turning into week-long according to a few ads, of supposed “savings” while shopping, it is now time to unveil the winning prize. Drum roll, please…

El Partner
will be receiving a beautiful red-head bust for his desk to remind him of where not to eat. Pulga Sundays may be dusty and dirty but you never know what you are going to find.

I bet you can’t get a present like that at any of the other holiday sales :P. Enjoy your future Pulga Sundays, where you can reuse and recycle!

(disclosure – El Partner will not be getting this as a present but that doesn’t mean I didn’t think of buying it. I snapped many interesting item photos as we spent time together – just looking.)

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Pulga (Flea Market) Sunday!

  1. ___Chano says:

    ___damn ! Pulga Reporting must be a good paying job, you report is more concise and complete than any report made by any local newspaper this year or any year, i am gonna save it and it goes into the archives of colorful Laredo history

  2. eric says:

    where can I go pick up that decapitated head of Sir Ronald?

  3. Keyrose says:

    The only reason I’ve gone to a flea market is to visit with my friend.

  4. Anonymous says:

    When are these open? I LOVE flea markets!

    • Que Fregados says:

      Not sure. The Border Town Flea Market says 7am and it seems to be open Wednesday through Sunday. The others are open Saturday & Sunday.

      In the future I want to write about what a social scene a few of these places are – they include dance halls, live music, food, and other activities. That doesn’t happen until around noonish on Sunday, I think. El Partner’s aunt keeping inviting me so I may as well go check it out.

  5. Matthew the treasure hunter says:

    One of these days I will go to Lorado’s flea markets. I visit towns in texas but like to have a reason to visit and potential to find unique things. Thanks for the info.

  6. peter says:

    Do you know if it’s true local car clubs do some car shows at santa fe flea market…Could you pass me the info.

    • Que Fregados says:

      I know I saw a car show where Las Palmas Flea Market used to be. The Santa Fe has enough space for a car show but I don’t know if they have recently have one. All I know is that vendors seem to keep disappearing since they moved to the buildings next door. It looks like it is slowly dying so maybe they would have car shows to drum up business – but I can’t tell you for sure. Sorry.

  7. Alejandra says:

    Hola, que tal? me podrias dar señas de como llegar a la pulga de la 359? por favor

  8. Brenda Medina says:

    Is there a number to the Pulga at hwy 359, I need to know if I go sell my stuff where do I need to pay for a booth or table etc? who know how much they charge?

    • Que Fregados says:

      Hi Brenda! Unfortunately, I don’t know about the Pulga on 359. I havent seen an office but I am sure there is one. For the one on Guadalupe, the office is in the southwest corner of the 1st building and they have a listing with costs for just a weekend booth. Same for the one on Park – their office is right by the SouthWest stage near the food stands. For the 359 one, your best bet is to drive over in person. My impression is that it is more regular sellers who have their sites reserved since they begin with new inventory sales on Wednesdays and many are open the whole week. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

