Out of state blogging

Dear readers,

I have failed to notify you that I am currently away from Laredo. I am not just Laredo but away from the gigantic state of Texas.

I’ve lived in Laredo a third of my life, another third in a different city and the last third in the place I call my hometown where I am visiting this week.

Even though I’ve been in Laredo since the 1990’s, to many readers I am not yet considered part of Laredo. I’d even show you pictures proving I drank the water (aka Falling in the Rio Grande & drinking it all in – yuk – another story for another time). Anyway, it doesn’t matter if I was born here or not, this is where I live and this is where I write from.

I mention this because even though I adjusted to this area, I know how hard it is to move in with no support. Every carne asada seems family oriented & when you’re not family…

Anyway, as I am surrounded by loved ones, I hope you are too. And be glad you are in sunny Laredo and don’t have these kinds of signs in front of your house:

20111121-230359.jpg

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Out of state blogging

  1. critters and crayons says:

    haha! I don’t envy that! I think snow is pretty -but I don’t actually like it very much. The gray slush is for the birds. Snow tires are awful things to deal with. Stay safe and have a great holiday!

  2. Poncho1950 says:

    Imagine having to move your car during a “snow emergency” as they call it around here. The city of Reading, Pa., where row homes dominate, has insufficient parking as it is.

  3. Anonymous says:

    i only mentioned it cuz my hubby is from iowa, i don’t go there unless it’s summer. ;-/

  4. ___Chano says:

    ___omg
    ___who is going to clean the riverbank this week ?
    ___who is going to be the most expensive seller in the farmer’s marker ?
    ___who is going to report on the kayak races?
    ___who is going to post pictures of abandoned tires ? oh, forget that, it’s someone else business
    ___who will represent us an report on any meeting ?
    who, who, ok whom ??????????????????????/

  5. MaryHelen says:

    We’re missing you already but I’ll bet it’s great to catch up with old friends, loving family members, and get a tummy-full of traditional home-cooking! Happy Thanksgiving and hugs to your family from the Gallego Family! 🙂

  6. Anonymous says:

    Familia is most important. ENJOY!

  7. peter says:

    Have great one hope you can still give us some info of our home town laredo to keep us updated on what’s going on with our home town city raza…Stay out of those freezing temperatures don’t forget to clear out the snow from your driveway…Happy holidays to you and family.

  8. YayaOrchid says:

    Wishing you a wonderful time with your Family! Stay safe and Happy Thanksgiving!

  9. peter says:

    Just remembered i have a picture of my father in Michigan chilly snowy city working as a well known construction worker maybe your family knows him Pedro Gutierrez born in zacatecas torreon mexico his nickname is torreon…Do know how cold it gets out there on just my father saying that more then two socks he had to wear and all geared up to be working out there in those winter cold temperatures…Happy thanksgiving to you and your family…Enjoy hope to hire from you soon.

  10. Anonymous says:

    Enjoy your time with your family, we miss you in LAredo!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. Laredoan says:

    That is right you are NOT from Laredo ~ deal with it.

Leave a Reply

