Screening of Milagro at TAMIU

What a nice email this young talented man sent for a public showing of his film, Milagro. I had made mention of it before in a post about the small by-invitation screening.

Good afternoon, my name is José Luis Montoya, and I am a senior at Texas A&M International University. If I may have a minute of your time, I would like to humbly ask for your help. I have spent the last few years writing, directing, and filming my independent film, Milagro. It was filmed in Nuevo Laredo, Tamaulipas, Mexico and, considering all the things that could have gone wrong, we are very blessed that everything turned out so well. On October 5, 2011, we had a showing at the Centro Cultural in Nuevo Laredo to a crowd of 1,200 people in which the film received very positive reviews. And now I am incredibly honored to say that TAMIU has agreed to show it at the Recital Hall in the Center for Fine & Performing Arts (CFPA) on November 3rd at 7:30PM. I can think of no better place for this film to have its U.S. debut since I want the world to know just how much the students of our local university have to offer and because—out of gratitude for all my professors have taught me—I want to contribute in whatever way I can to help my community gain a more positive image.

Milagro is a family film that does not contain any obscene language or sexual content. It took a lot of effort and sacrifice to make and now TAMIU is graciously granting us the amazing opportunity to show it to the community with FREE ADMISSION. I’ve attached a copy of the invitation and I am respectfully asking that you please pass along this one minute trailer to people you know in hopes that it may pique their interest and convince them to attend. My main goal in all this is to show all areas of the globe the good and positive things that can come out of this region. I would really appreciate your assistance in making this dream into a realization.

I hope you get a chance to go and support local writers, actors, directors and all the community that made this film possible.

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Screening of Milagro at TAMIU

  1. ___vicente fernandez says:

    ___porque no cobran en la entrada ?, para recuperar gastos de produccion

  2. Anonymous says:

    Está super-mocha esta película. ¿Tratan de difundir un mensaje moral con esta película? No entiendo.

  3. Albert says:

    My nephew loaned me the movie, it was interesting to recognize some of the actors. Now, where can I buy my own copy?

Leave a Reply

