Meeting Neighbors

Today I met Hilda, one of my neighbors. Hilda had quite a few stories and was happy that I had stopped by and was very proud of her yard. While I may not have the same tastes as Hilda, she did remind me that despite our decor differences, we should all be happy with the choices we make.

She named all the trees in her yard. I should have written them down. She told me about the age of her trees – almost as old as her 100 year old house. She loves her yard and sitting outside and I asked to take photos of trees she didn’t think much of. I took pictures because they remind me of my art school days and all my recycled “artwork.” The trees have their charm :).

As I was leaving, she asked me to wait while she went to dig around in the dirt. She dusted off three little seeds that look like ladybugs. Hilda told me the name of the plant they came from but… I forget. What I can’t forget is that she told me to carry them in my pocket because carrying 3 of these little seeds will bring me luck. I think they did already.

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Meeting Neighbors

  1. Poncho1950 says:

    Colorín. Abrus precatorius. Toxic, but used medicinally.

  2. Lisa C says:

    What a sweet post. I hope they bring you lots of luck.

Leave a Reply

