I heart Social Media

If you are reading this, I am sure you know it is Social Media day – time to celebrate how we all virtually connect! More than likely (based on what my stats say), you came to read this post from Facebook or Twitter. Some time back, I had posted a video on the growth and impact of social media… well, that same outfit came up with an update:



That divide between those trying to keep up with social media and those who can’t or don’t care is growing but the bigger issue is that even if you do try to keep up, you really can’t because of so much information. One of Mashable’s (the initiators of social media day) great infographics (click on it to make it larger) shows the massive amount of information as a whole.

That is where us little regional Laredo bloggers come in to play, we condense the things we read or see or hear and post it up with the hopes that you can related to it or take interest in something we post. Does it cover everything? No way. Are we interactive? Yes wa… nevermind, but yes.

Recently the question of readership came up in different conversations. All the Laredo bloggers have different audiences and all respond differently. In this month, I have reached new growth with 10,000+ individual hits per month (May was 14,000+, we’ll see this month). Woohoooo!! That is not bad considering that Laredo has a 30+% poverty rate, much higher than many other places, and limited access to the internet. Although I have been criticized before because I pointed out that Laredo falls behind when it comes to computer usage – I wasn’t saying it to put Laredo down. It’s a fact (I actually wrote a grant for a project to provide internet access to families meeting specific guidelines a few years ago – we got it based on the not so great internet connectivity of this area). A fact that hopefully will continue to change as we strengthen community leaders and provide opportunities (like LaSanbe’s efforts to find interns – he isn’t kidding! Hopefully I too will have more guest posts or help another blogger out). Research is starting to show that those on social networks tend to be more engaged in community (this Pew Research study was really interesting) and as Laredo grows, hopefully the number of those who blog will grow.

So, with that said, I want to be a better blogger. Obviously none of us bloggers are like Pulitzer prize winner Andrés Oppenheimer, featured on Vme TV – heck, we aren’t even journalists. That doesn’t mean we don’t want to have an impact in our communities and have our voices heard. I watched one of Oppenheimer’s shows on Latinos and education – if you follow Laredo bloggers, you know this fits right in to one of this community’s major concerns. I did apply for a BlogHer conference scholarship through Vme TV (locally shown on KLRN) and Latina Bloggers Connect. I still have my fingers crossed and hope this post, which was already in the plans, helps me to win their conference pass. I am not being paid (you already know I write for free :)) but I am participating in the contest to win a BlogHer’11 ticket from Latina Bloggers Connect and Vme TV. Solo roadtrip, here I come! Or not. We shall see.

Unlike other places that sponsored an actual social media day meet-up, we didn’t here :(. But in honor of the day here is a past video to say thank you to all of your support:

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I heart Social Media

  1. critters and crayons says:

    10000 hits is great! My baby blog is starting to average around 4500 so I’m pretty happy with the growth- especially since the readership is pretty specialized, I think- Thanks for the great post!!!
    Much more thoughtful than mine! haha!

Leave a Reply

