The State of the Citizens of Laredo

How many of you attended the State of the City presentation at the Laredo Country Club?? A kind reader took pity on my lint-filled pockets and gave me a free ticket to the Chamber of Commerce’s event for the crème de la crème.

For some reason, I was let in… maybe not that elite… or maybe they couldn’t sell enough tickets and had to give them away? Regardless, it was pretty packed and I came away thinking… “why did I bother?”

Ah, yes, because I would like to see better for this city. Much of what was said was rehashed and I came away empty. I had video but…

Photo credit: MetroNoticias.com.mx

On the other side of the river, politicians were doing a different kind of show. There were all day festivities in Nuevo Laredo to honor their founding 163 years ago. The early morning trail ride led by Presidente Municipal, Benjamín Galván Gómez, was followed by a parade for the city. At some point, Mayor Salinas and Judge Valdez made it over as reported by MetroNoticias.

The scary part for Laredo’s downtown residents were the night-time fireworks. I got a few messages asking if that was gunfire but it sounded very regular and just like a fireworks show. How sad that we live in a time when we question every pop and assume guns. Gladly, it was the anniversary fiesta for Nuevo Laredo. Although with a burn ban and a severe drought… never mind.

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The State of the Citizens of Laredo

  1. daisy says:

    ya piss off a high-to-do in this town (sylvia bruni, edna flores) and you can’t find a job EVER!! I hate this town…don’t know why i even bother anymore trying to make a difference here, it’s obvious people are gonna stay the course to nowhere. *pfft*

  2. BT Blues says:

    I am surprised they let you in. I thought Raul “No Guts” Salinas would have had you, LareDOS, and some of the other uber bloggers on his banned list

  3. swardspeak says:

    I would totally post the video.

    🙂

  4. Trololo says:

    I was bored out of my skull at the address. The only entertaining aspect was the comical way in which Raul Salinas delivered his speech.

    Also, early morning on Saunders I saw a whole caravan of police cars, firetrucks, ambulances, and some car that looked like it had the presidential seal on it… Do you know if that was the mayor? Because that was effing ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

