Lengua, yum

After all that talk about El Meson de San Agustin after we got a taste of their cremas (cream-based soups), I had to walk over for an early lunch.

LEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEENGUUUUUAAAA…

My favorite dish - tongue sauteed in fresh tomato sauce

I savored the lengua (beef tongue). It always reminds me of my younger years. My parents would drive us out to La Matanza (it literally was a slaughterhouse, hence the nickname from us Spanish-speakers) near the Illinois/Indiana border and my parents would always talk to the butchers on the side. In addition to the standard meat purchase, we would score free menudo (tripe), patas (the feet), la cabeza (the head) and yes, la lengua (the tongue).

I called my dad, just to confirm that my memories were correct. He said that yes, indeed, in the mid-70s, most of what we got from la matanza was free because it was scheduled to be thrown away. He said that as soon as they realized how the Mexican butchers were passing on the “undesirable” scraps of cows and pigs and chickens to other Mexican immigrants, they started to charge for it in the 80s.

My brother and I didn’t care where the meals we ate came from, to us they were delicious. As adults, we are grateful to the Salvation Army for some staples, the farm stands who would sell their throw-away fruits & veggies and to those Mexican butchers at the slaughterhouse for filling our innards with innards – ha. Nowadays, tongue meat goes for as much as a decent steak at a mainstream grocery store :(.

My only problem now that I can actually afford to buy tongue is the preparation. If only I could cook it myself… or better yet, just buy me lunch at El Meson.

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lengua, yum

  1. Louis Campbell says:

    That lengua plate looks to die for!!!

  2. MonBon says:

    Oh wow, I’m drooling. I miss El Meson… why must I work so far away!?!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Well I dont care if i work far , the drive is well worth it 🙂

  4. Anonymous says:

    Aw, this has been a very nice post. I love lengua and which there was someplace near me that sold it. I have never seen it sold at any of our stores or restaurants. It makes me want to visit Laredo.

Leave a Reply

