Chuntaros and pointy boots

I’ve been wanting to make some time to visit with the local fans of pointy boots and musica Mexicana “tribal” and other US-borne Mexican regional sound like Duranguense. Cesar Gaytan recently hosted Los Horoscopos de Durango (I was checking due to distant ties since they had been shot at coming from Chicago through Dallas to Laredo) and we got to chat about the differences in music styles and customs. According to him:

Tribal is more like cumbia mixed with colombian sounds and samba.
Duranguense is kinda more tambora and ranchero type.

Photo on chuntaritos.com sent in from Austin, Texas - boots for the whole family

Both are into the “pointy boot” craze (among males) but Tribal is the big lead and comes more from the San Luis Potosi state region although it way more fans in the US than in Northern Mexico. So big is it that it made mainstreet yahoo news today:

The pointy-boot fad coincided with a new dance craze of gyrating, drawer-dropping troupes dressed in matching western shirts and skinny jeans to accentuate their footwear.

They dance to “tribal” music, a mixture of Pre-Columbian and African sounds mixed with fast cumbia bass and electro-house beats. In Matehuala, all-male teams compete in weekly danceoffs at four nightclubs that offer prizes of $100 to $500, and often a bottle of whiskey.

The troupes are so popular, they’re hired to dance at weddings, for quinceaneras, celebrations of the Virgin of Guadalupe, bachelorette parties and even rosary ceremonies for the dead. One group, Los Parranderos, or The Partiers, filmed a wedding scene for “Triunfo del Amor,” or “Love’s Triumph,” a prime-time soap opera on the Televisa network.

I was accustomed to having many relatives showing off their pointy-toed boots but “normal-sized” pointy-toed if you can say there is such a thing. This new trend takes things to a new level and there is a huge community in Houston and Dallas where you often hear someone being referred to as a Chuntaro, which is used both as an insult and a badge of pride. For example, check out one of my favorite sites to peek through – yes, a guilty pleasure. It is called Chuntaritos.com and invites viewers to send in photos of Chuntaros, Shulas (Northern Mexican pronunciation for Chulas – pretty girls), Papis (hot guys) and fan pictures (usually boots and accessories).

So why is this post in a Laredo blog?? Because I don’t want you to freak out if you see a botas picudas (pointy boot) contest at your local club one of these days :).

UPDATE: Another video from yahoo http://cosmos.bcst.yahoo.com/up/player/popup/?cl=25246458

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Chuntaros and pointy boots

  1. Poncho1950 says:

    Evolution leads us down some unforeseen paths.

  2. mary flores says:

    omg THOSE R THE UGLIEST BOOTS I HAVE EVER SEEN………I WONDER IF THEY THINK THEY LOOK HOT ..ASI BIEN PICUDOS LMFAO…TO EACH HIS OWN…ID RATHER WEAR MY NEW BALANCE LOL

  3. monica says:

    hey no todos se ben tan mal and anyways thats d style aka in dallas is alsome i love it i love going to the nightclubs and dance trival with my boyfriend i really like it.

  4. cici says:

    cuando veo los pointy boots digo “ay qe oso social estan quemando la raza”…

  5. Anonymous says:

    no manchen esta bien un piko mas omenos grande pero aki ya se pasaron de pendejos aqi en u.s no nola acabamos con los pinches chinos y gueros con la carilla

  6. Anonymous says:

    where can I buy those pointy boots in dallas?

  7. Anonymous says:

    let them wear whatever they want.tienen envidia !!!!

  8. Anonymous says:

    if a real cowboy came back from the old west..he would shoot every single one of you all.

  9. Emma says:

    wateve i love the guys with the boots on there so cool even my boyfriend has them. lol

  10. pozycjonowanie says:

    Howdy I am so excited I found your blog, I really found you by mistake, while I was searching on Aol for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a marvelous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

  11. I think this is the greatest thing of all time. I want to make some Mexican friends so I can party down pointy boot style when I come to Texas. Rock on hermanos.

  12. Liz says:

    I got these type of boots and i’m a girl I love the tribal ones! i tied them on and was about to fall lol

  13. darmowy katalog says:

    Hey! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?

    There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thank you

  14. Anonymous says:

    chido

Leave a Reply

