Now that’s dancing dedication!

Photo credit unknown but was passed on to Aracely D. Nava - thanks Aracely!


These storms have been creating fear amongst those of us with iffy roofs and those who are just plain scared of thunder and lightning.

But we have to give it to the women at the taqueria on Zapata Highway – What? Did you think it was just beer runs?? Pfffft, think again. You gotta hand it to the employees, now that is some work ethic – dancing away in the rain in bikinis. But I am sure they were honoring the new ordinance and not dancing with sex in mind.

This is the same taqueria place that always slows down traffic for me as I leave my friend’s house in the South. I can’t stand when oglers nearly stop when traffic should be flowing freely on Zapata Highway.

That is why I ran inside after making the mistake of wearing a white t-shirt to close the windows & move my car & bring in the garbage can when it was raining gatitos y perritos. I didn’t want to create an accident as the water drenched my old lady body parts and rolls of extra goodness, hahaha. Oh how I entertain myself on a rainy day.

By the way, I really hate seeing these dancers right below the sign that says “carnitas” because unfortunately, we do tend to dehumanize women when they are scantily clad as recent research has been making the news. Don’t get me wrong, we all have a choice BUT… here is your thrill-kill… next time you see them dancing, think of the kids they have at home or the role of daughter, neighbor, friend that they play or how they celebrated Mother’s Day or what they were like as little girls (more little than they are today).

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Now that’s dancing dedication!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Too, funny!!

  2. Poncho1950 says:

    The rain is bigger news than the dancers!

  3. BT Blues says:

    All right QF, continue to bring this to our attention, then. . . .

    • Que Fregados says:

      You worry about your own Blogger problems! If you hadn’t noticed, all the blogger-based blogs are down. WordPress… the way to go.

      • BT Blues says:

        Hey, I have no worries. If its down its down. If its not, I don’t fret. You are more worried about our blogs than we are, it seems. 🙂

        But for that, I remain in deep and utter appreciation, of course.

Leave a Reply

