Cantu reads for WBCA, not the canícula

Dr. Norma Cantú and Raquel Valle Senties teamed up for a presentation at the Laredo Public Library on April 27, 2011. The room was full of supporters and curious listeners and to my surprise, there was a fancy set-up for videotaping.

As you can hear in the video, part of the reason for the presentation was to capture some of the poetry and written work of these two Laredo women for a documentary being created on the history of the Washington’s Birthday Celebration.

I promise I did not open my mouth 😛 and gave no opinion about the WBCA.



As many of you know (because I assume you know your Tiger Legends), Norma Cantu is originally from Laredo, Texas and is the author of Canícula. Check it out, she even has an entry in Wikipedia.

By luck, coincidence, chance, whatever you want to call it, Norma was also one of the first people who befriended me in Laredo when I first arrived. At the time, she was active with a group called Las Mujeres, a local organization of women, and she invited my very shy-and-knows-no-one-in-Laredo self to a few gatherings. She may not remember but she also introduced me to gas station food, too, not something I was accustomed to up North.

Unfortunately, Las Mujeres no longer exists. Instead, I help with a national women’s networking organization called Las Comadres (no relation to any local comedians & yes, I know it takes on a different meaning in border cities but it is what it is…) that is fairly strong in our fair city.

I mention it because I will not be posting much in the next few days because I will be at the international gathering of Las Comadres – so you can blame Norma for helping steer me into the path of women’s groups and prevent me from blogging. Kidding, kidding.

Raquel Valle Senties' art work on display


I do apologize for the video, most of the footage was lost and I had nothing of what Raquel Valle Senties read. FYI – she also has hosted a comadrazo (comadre + abrazo – get it?) in the past. Yay, supportive women’s groups!

This won’t be the last we hear from Norma, she is currently working on a project with some very smart & cool cookies for a presentation about Laredo history in the Fall. I can’t wait to hear more about it!

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cantu reads for WBCA, not the canícula

  1. me says:

    I don’t think comadrazo means what you think it means…it is not the conjugation (?) of the two words.

  2. rick78 says:

    Hey in England the real WBCA is celebrating for one of their own but NOPALEROS here are just pretending to be royalty.

Leave a Reply

