420 One Love and Laredo’s BorderSlam Poetry

I didn’t forget it was 420 – but since that is not my cup of … green tea :), I am writing about it at the end of the day when I finally got a chance.

Lazy Daze store (whose name will be changing soon 🙂 ) sponsored the 1st Annual One Love Music and Art Festival. It is the first annual so it is not as large as other 420 festivals held in other cities but it sounded like there was plenty of entertainment going on.

I got the heads-up because the Laredo BorderSlam Poetry weekly event was moved to the One Love fest:

Instead of a regular slam at our usual location, Cuadro Cafe and Laredo BorderSlam will be setting up a stage at the 1st Annual One Love Music and Art Festival being put on by Lazy Daze!

The festival runs from 4 pm to midnight. We will be there all day, and will have 3 mini-slams at 5, 7, and 9. Open signup in between each slam. One round. One winner per slam. Winners will win a gift certificate to Lazy Daze and a One Love medal!…! Poets can compete in one or all of the mini-slams, and 4/20 themed poems will receive extra points!

Cuadro Cafe will have hookahs available, Chibbi will be hosting, and DJ AngeloV and the rest of the Joker’s Nest will be ripping up the 1’s and 2’s all festival long!

Also! Also!! Also!!! We will be having a High-ku competition. Everyone will be encouraged to write a 4/20 themed haiku, write their name, email and phone number on the back, and drop it in a bucket and the best haiku will win a gift certificate from Lazy Daze!

All regular slam rules still apply: 3 minutes per poem, no props, musical instruments, costumes or animal acts, 5 random judges, scores from 0.0-10.0.

At the festival, there will also be a variety of local merchants, local artists, local bands, local food, local beer, and a variety of local buskers!

Its gonna be slamming! Are you?

So I missed it but I didn’t miss special guest, Big Poppa E when he visited Laredo recently for a slam. I have never been much of a poet but I really do enjoy a good poetry slam – reminds me of back home. So my friend and I decided to join the “young people” ( 🙂 ha!) and went to check out the Laredo scene:

Laredo BorderSlam has open mic poetry slams every Wednesday at Cuadro Cafe, where the smoothies are good and the sandwiches are so-so but the owner is definitely great! At the slam, I even picked up Big Poppa E’s self-published book and got a nice autograph :).


I did not ask him to write that :), he wrote it on his own.

How many smileys 🙂 are in this blog post?? I swear I did not celebrate 420, I just felt like :)ing.

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 420 One Love and Laredo’s BorderSlam Poetry

  1. Jorge Santana says:

    I am such an unhip poet, I would have a panic attack at even attempting slam poetry.

  2. Crystal says:

    We welcome ALL kinds of poets to come check out the slams (= which are now every other Thursday night at Gallery 201, downtown.

Leave a Reply

