Income Tax Return – done!

It hardly feels like the beginning of Semana Santa (holy week). Sadly for my parents and those who share their Catholic faith (and those of who celebrate Jewish Passover and Christian celebrations), the world throws so many things at us that for me Semana Santa is overshadowed by things like FINISHING MY INCOME TAX RETURN! I am sure all local Laredo hotels are packed to the gills with travelers visiting for the week.

Remarkably, unbelievably, defying all past trends – I actually finished my income tax return on time!! Normally on April 15th I am celebrating Pedro Infante in all his singing glory. I used to have an movie marathon in his honor years ago but… alas, my friends no longer follow my goofball ways and prefer to be sleeping at midnight.


This year, the IRS set the deadline for April 18th. It gave me the weekend to take out my “taxes” box and sort through to see what is what, to say goodbye to my Rotary GSE guest from Portugal as he went off to the next South Texas city, to finish some work deadlines and to stop coughing for just a few minutes to finish the paperwork. Of course, in DC, they were busy with Emancipation Day, a holiday in our nation’s capital.

Taxpayers will have until Monday, April 18 to file their 2010 tax returns and pay any tax due because Emancipation Day, a holiday observed in the District of Columbia, falls this year on Friday, April 15. By law, District of Columbia holidays impact tax deadlines in the same way that federal holidays do; therefore, all taxpayers will have three extra days to file this year. Taxpayers requesting an extension will have until Oct. 17 to file their 2010 tax returns.

The IRS expects to receive more than 140 million individual tax returns this year, with most of those being filed by the April 18 deadline.

Luckily for me – I am dirt poor and uncomplicated and can e-file for free. Ok, not dirt poor and a little complicated but my income might make you wince and it qualifies me to use one of the many choices on the IRS website for free e-filing.

Hope you have your in! If not, there is always the option of filing an extension with Form 4868.

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Income Tax Return – done!

  1. Keyrose says:

    My wife finished our return yesterday. We’re getting $8 back. WooHoo!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Pingback: Income Tax Return – done! | Que Fregados « Best Tax Practice

Leave a Reply

