Go Laredo… you knew it was coming

On the one hand, I have friends sending me a link to a website proclaiming Laredo the Worst Place in America to Live. It lists a total of 80 cities with bad & wrong info. They show a photo of the Texas Travel Information Center as an example of Laredo being a “ghost town” and give up Jamboozie as proof of the alcoholism in Laredo (well… that one may be a little true).

On the other, we have a campaign to promote Laredo and show it some love. LISD and KGNS paired up to create a rap video released tonight and featuring el chulillo from KGNS, Patrick Nelson, with a student rapper. Oh yes, Pat can do that.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Go Laredo, posted with vodpod

If asked what I thought – I give it a big MEH. I listen to rap but am definitely not a fan; it was a good effort but… maybe they should have done a remake of Rebecca Black’s Friday. Laredo has its good and bad. If you read this blog often enough, you might think I am one of Laredo’s number one fan but… don’t ignore my nuggets of criticism here and there.

I had a nice chat with my brother who asked me “Why are you so down on the city where you did most of your growing up?” I said “¿Quuuuuue?” He has heard me publicly say that I feel safer in Laredo than I ever did back home. Which I do, I mean, I did, until the Laredo police shot the kid in downtown yesterday. I think in defending Laredo I have been giving my hometown a bum rap (yes, I meant the pun) – so to my home town, sorry for temporarily forgetting that you made me who I am and you are where my brothers and parents choose to live. My brother loves “unnamed city up North” and I love “unnamed city down south” – despite both of their warts, criminals, politicians, etc.

So yes, Go “get your LareDOS newspaper in many locations” Laredo… I did say I would let you know the new issue is out in print :P. One more try: Go Laredo on Friday, Friday, Friday…! Darn that Rebecca Black – can’t get her song out of my head!!

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Go Laredo… you knew it was coming

  1. ___ baldie paldie says:

    ___”We are number one !, We are Number one !, (come on and join me in chorus), someone has to take the Lead . . .

  2. nemo says:

    I read the post from your link and noticed the following: “Guys at the Jamboozie in Laredo TX – they started the night as 8 stone weakling – amazing what a few dozen gallons of beer can do!”
    Stone? instead of lbs. (or at least kilos)?. Are this guys even in the US?
    BTW, doesn’t Laredo have a Tourism Bureu? do they notice this and the articles in Men’s Health? just wondering.

  3. You know, as much as I have friends here, met my fiancé here, and have overall lived here for most of my life now, I have to say that if given the choice of starting our new life over almost anywhere else, I’d be gone so fast I’d Doppler shift.

Leave a Reply

