I’m back but you are probably gone

My visitor hopped back on a bus and is in Chicago now, my school presentations are over, my hiring spree for a local study is finally done and I am back from my trip to help promote the city’s best private/public partnership event (which means no one paid me to go but I went anyway).

Of course, it is Spring Break 2011and it doesn’t matter that this blogger is back because most of you are probably gone. Enjoy!

I had briefly made a comment in a recent post about missing the pandemonium (using the technical word for a group) downtown parrots. Now that I am in Laredo and really focusing on what is going on downtown – I still have not heard nor seen one single green parrot.

Did they freeze during the 2 days of weird winter storm that killed most of our desert plants? Did they fly further south and have just not come back yet? Did someone use them as target practice? Is there an ornithologist in Laredo who knows where are the green parrots of downtown Laredo??

The Laredo parrots resting in one of their favorite spots in downtown (last year, because this year they are mia)


I miss their early afternoon noise fest. They always traveled in group and were easy to spot when you heard movement and looked up at a green cloud flapping all over downtown. Maybe they are just on their paisano break – if you spot one or two or the usual thousand, let us know.

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m back but you are probably gone

  1. MaryHelen says:

    Glad you’re back and safe and sound. Now to worry about the parrots. 😉

  2. carolyn says:

    The birds are still nesting in the Old Building behind the Tex Mex County building

Leave a Reply

