Memorial markers

Curiosity set in when I saw this marker that probably had a beautiful tree once. I then heard about the Edgar Allen Poe’s annual grave-side visitor who didn’t show for the 2nd year. It just made me a little sad that someone once made a nice gesture that ended or is now forgotten – like the benches in St. Agustin Plaza or the tree my friends and I planted at Salvador Garcia Middle School that I know died the following year.

This is a bummer of a post – but it is in honor of the long gone tree that once stood by this memorial marker somewhere in Laredo.

I really am a happy person, just sentimental sometimes.

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Memorial markers

  1. Happy Faces says:

    Please do not be sad QF. Here is a solution – get mad at someone for a little while and take it out on them. Then, be happy again! 🙂

  2. rick78 says:

    A tombstone is always a somber gloomy feeling but like the unknown Poe’s visitor I too would do the same for my grandfather with a quart of his favorite beer. Know the feeling of losing a planted tree . All the tender care it took to care and plant it then it dies . I did the same with a rose bush which would produce beautiful yellow roses . I had to leave for an extended time and it died . Trees and plants are like pets they have feelings of attachment. Believe it or not but they do !

Leave a Reply

