Feldmans for lunch

The view into the prep table with the $7.77 lunch specials on the counter

Ok so we went from local bloggers thinking Feldmans Market Center was a new gourmet and organic foods store to thinking it was just about alcohol because of their ads. I finally got a chance to go check it out with some of the finest in our legal community.

It turns out, Feldmans is a little of a lot of different things. When I was first invited for lunch, I said “Lunch? at Feldmans?”

turkey sandwich and tomato soup with my plasticware


I was actually pleasantly surprised at how tasty my turkey fontina panini and tomato basil soup was but… I had ordered the chicken tandoori with naan bread. It turns out that when something is new, it has a few kinks to work out and even though the chicken was the special that day, they didn’t have any – boo!

We were the first ones there but it quickly filled up with plenty of our more established members of the community :).

A pretty full deli dining space at Feldman's but the wait was looooong for food


Again, though, they are still trying to get their stuff together. The wait for our simple plates was long, long, long but we were amongst good company and had a good time. I am not sure how they are doing this week or if they finally have the ingredients they need for their “lunch specials” but I would give them a try again.

One of the cool things we discovered in exploring Feldmans was that they have a “classroom” in the rear of the store. I’m not sure of the schedule but one of my lunch companions asked and she was told that they were having a wine class on Thursdays. What exactly does that mean, I am not sure. One thing I am a little sour on was my attempt to contact them via their website when I wrote my first post and not getting a response from them at all. Don’t think of this as a plug for them, just a clarification of a new business in Laredo – but I do wish them the best & I might stop in to their next wine class.

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Feldmans for lunch

  1. tricia driscoll says:

    the thing I found most exciting was the section containing biodegradable trash, sandwich bags and recycled plastic wrap and aluminum foil. Their spice section is very nice. We walked away with biodegradable products, brie, excellent picadillo packets for ground beef and some wine. We are so happy Laredo has a place like this now!

  2. Que Fregados says:

    Oh yes, I also forgot to mention their unique food selection, too. Sue also mentioned that this Thursday’s wine 101 class will start at 7pm and will be about French wines.

  3. tricia driscoll says:

    hmmmmm……that might be kind of nice!

  4. Juanita says:

    I went in there the other day and was pleasantly surprised by the interesting sandwich choices. I think Cafe Dulce, which I really want to see succeed could take a lesson. The same old plain ham and cheese and turkey and cheese sandwiches aren’t doing it for me.

  5. Selina says:

    I’ll be checking out the wine class tonite! I’ve been meaning to make time to stop by for lunch.

  6. topi says:

    Hi! First, I would like to apologize for not having the
    ingredients for some of our specials and for our website issues.
    That is definitely not acceptable and will be taken care of ASAP. I
    want to thank you for taking the time to explore our store and
    giving it an honest chance. :). Our chefs will definitely be
    working on their speed and customer service, we do have a few kinks
    along the way as always in a new market, BUT I can guarantee we are
    working very hard to bring only the BEST to Laredo. This is the
    first I hear of your blog but I’ll be sure to keep an eye for it
    from now on. You can find all the information on our events via
    Twitter and Facebook, as well as get a quick response on any
    question you might have! Thanks again for taking the time to review
    us, we appreciate constructive criticism and realize there is
    always room for growth. Have a wonderful day and I hope to see you
    in Market Center soon! Twitter.com/feldmansmc or find us on
    Facebook “Feldman’s Market Center”

  7. topi says:

    Wine 101 and Brew-ology = completely free educational
    classes on fine wine and ales from all over the world. Also,
    whenever there are issues or compliments for our Laredo location
    please inform Freddie Castillo (Unit Director) so that he may
    address the situation quickly. Once again, thank you so much and
    hope to meet you soon. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Forget the Liquor: Five Reasons I Love Feldmans in Laredo | critters and crayons

Leave a Reply

