The sun, the moon and the clouds – not mine :(

What?!? How could Ms. Angeles Duran have beat me to ownership of the sun!?

There is an international agreement which states that no country may claim ownership of a planet or star, but it says nothing about individuals, she added.

“There was no snag, I backed my claim legally, I am not stupid, I know the law. I did it but anyone else could have done it, it simply occurred to me first.”

The document issued by the notary public declares Duran to be the “owner of the Sun, a star of spectral type G2, located in the centre of the solar system, located at an average distance from Earth of about 149,600,000 kilometres”.

Duran, who lives in the town of Salvaterra do Mino, said she now wants to slap a fee on everyone who uses the sun and give half of the proceeds to the Spanish government and 20 percent to the nation’s pension fund.

She would dedicate another 10 percent to research, another 10 percent to ending world hunger — and would keep the remaining 10 percent herself.

At least she plans to use the rental income for the good of Spain and the world. I know the moon is now claimed but I wonder if I could claim ownership to big clouds. I could make a killing if Laredoans paid me every time they got some relief from Ms. Duran’s intense sun.

Of course, I would donate it to some worthy cause. Maybe that non-partisan poll watching, fairness in elections group! First, it has to be started 😦

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The sun, the moon and the clouds – not mine :(

  1. chamin22 says:

    Guao intresting….. hmmm iwanna own the moon!

Leave a Reply

