Let’s go check out the big plans for downtown

It’s getting close to 5:30pm, close to the time that the 3rd and last meeting of the Downtown Revitalization where architect’s talking at the audience will happen. Bordertown Blues let us know earlier of when it was announced as, of course, Laredo Morning Times.

Since the last meeting, I have tried several times to leave comments on the Rediscover Laredo website. I have to say it has been impossible. For some reason, it is one of the SLOWEST websites around – just bringing up the calendar to make sure I had the date set correctly was a long wait. Not only that but it has remain unchanged and static this whole time. In trying to leave my comments about the promised stakeholders group that they were going to form, the page where you leave comments resets itself and erases what I write. Did they receive it? I am guessing not because one of my suggestions was to invite property owners and residents who walk the streets of downtown. It is not that difficult to do – a simple walk through with flyers or utilizing the historic preservation officer’s list of addresses could have easily been used. I did not get a thing via mail, flyer, or see a flyer posted to invite those who are in downtown on a daily basis.

I hope the tone does change a bit so that there is more interaction with the audience. Because I was not able to write on their suggestions, I emailed the local architect and cc-ed him on my interactions with the city when it came to trying to make my property better. Let’s see if any of my information made a difference.

But enough of my whining. I am obviously going because I have an interest and an opinion about downtown. To be continued.

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Let’s go check out the big plans for downtown

  1. Chuck Owen says:

    Nothing will happen of significance until adequate ingress egress can be assured. When I-35 is backing up to Mann Road no one is going down town. Not me, for sure, and I think I speak for the majority. That is for residents and for tourist alike.

  2. BT Blues says:

    I tried to email them to, writing: “Please destroy most streets and buildings (with the exception of the churches) and start over.”

    Next time I tried to add a comment, I was blocked. Go figure.

    • Que Fregados says:

      17 people here, including media & presenters. Hasn’t started yet & it’s 5:55pm.

      • MaryHelen says:

        I feel terrible that I missed this meeting! I don’t receive the Laredo Morning Times (on principle) and I’d been out-of-town for several days so I didn’t see any announcements. 😦 But was it even worth it to attend?

  3. matt says:

    give me free tacos now. they musta had tons leftover.

Leave a Reply

