I will never misspell cemetery, ever

sign on the Laredo Cemetery Saunders on the Catholic side with wrought iron misspelled - boo

How could I forget. My visit to the cemetery this morning was also a reminder of my own nerdiness. It was the final round of the regional spelling bee and I was given “cemetery”. Oh yes, my 12-year-old mind put an “a” that didn’t belong. I ended up in 4th place. Oh well, there went the joy of spelling supercalifragilisticexpialidocious in front of the state competitors – ha!

What strikes me in Laredo, though, is not so much the mistakes the average person makes in spelling; we all make them. The problem is in how many mistakes are found in permanent signs, city and county documents (even today’s ballot had a “counsel” where “council” should have been). One that I see misspelled in plenty of classified ads and other listings is “wrought iron“. The cemetery instructions, just like many other places, keep making the mistake of using “rod iron” – why? Didn’t someone proofread and tell the sign-painter that it is wrought? That rod iron would be a literal rod made of iron. I guess you see it a few times and think it is right, you repeat it over and over – even on permanent city signs.

I wonder if we see Mexico spelled incorrectly enough like on this Vegas (my recent trip) key chain, will we start to spell it Maxico too?

Keychains for sale in Las Vegas - what is up with Maxico?

You never know, you have plenty of people in Laredo who spell it Loredo.

Can you tell I am focusing on commonly spelled words instead of the elections? By now we all should know the early voting results. So many people voted today that the elections might still sway by a few points here and there. We won’t know until after midnight today but I’ll be watching and reading – not writing. So remember – it is wrought iron, it is Mexico, it is supercalifragilisticexpialidocious, and it is definitely LAREDO!! Back to watching election results, you can check it out on LMT live online πŸ™‚

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I will never misspell cemetery, ever

  1. tricia driscoll says:

    You should read “Eat, Shoots, and Leaves”. It’s more about being a stickler for proper grammar, but it seems up your alley for spelling nerdiness! πŸ™‚ The joke that is behind the book’s title is actually one of my favorite jokes to tell- and my husband says that THAT makes me a nerd, too.

    • Que Fregados says:

      I didn’t know it was a book but I have heard the joke – about a Panda, right? I try not to focus on spelling so much but I couldn’t help it with this city sign at the cemetery this morning. Total nerd but I do make a bunch of mistakes – like “know” instead of “now” but I caught it and fixed it right after i had published it. Oh well.

  2. je says:

    Rod Iron is one of my all time favorites in Laredo…first noticed down on San Bernardo at the Artwork By God place. Cracks me up every time. I think it’s because most people dont know what “wrought” means, and when you say it fast it sounds like ‘rot’ or ‘rod’. Maxico is my new favorite. They should change their name. Although, on second thought, it does sort of sound like some kind of fem-hi product…fem-hy?

  3. MaryHelen says:

    Ay, Laredo!! One of the worst misspelling events happened a couple of months ago. I know that you saw it, QF. If that guy could have dug a hole under the street to hide himself, he would have. I bet he’ll NEVER misspell “Laredo” again!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6J9fV0_YEJA

  4. Poncho1950 says:

    One shouldn’t get overwrought about such things …

    But seriously, folks, that’s actually a great misspelling in that it makes sense. It’s phonetically just about spot-on, and it’s conceptually plausible: wrought iron consists of bent iron rods.

Leave a Reply

