Where to eat, where to eat

I love that there are different restaurants within walking distance in the downtown areas. I had been meaning to congratulate the owners of Caffe Dolce on their yummy sandwiches. I have to admit, when I first went, I was a little disappointed with the selection – especially because I am not a soda drinker and I like chips with my sandwich. They have really upped their selection and it seems to get better all the time. They also have some yummy sweets to munch on and are now doing Saturday night open mic and other activities.

Another place I haven’t tried but want to walk in out of curiosity is the Knights of Columbus building. I used to live a few houses down a few years ago and the Knights always had cook-outs and big gatherings. The smell would waft to my house and my mouth would water. Recently, they have officially opened as a restaurant. I really want to try it to see if the smells of a few years ago are still there and if they taste just as good.

Good eating in the downtown residential areas of Laredo :).

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Where to eat, where to eat

  1. Poncho1950 says:

    It has been so long since I’ve been downtown — I moved to El Norte 30 years ago, although I return for a visit at least once a year — that I can’t quite remember where the KofC building is located.

  2. Juanita says:

    Cafe Dolce sells sandwiches? I’ve been looking for a place that sell something other than tacos! Where is it located?

  3. Dan says:

    Cafe Dulce has great food and a great atmosphere! You also can’t go wrong with one of their delicious cupcakes. Highly recommended.

  4. chendito says:

    The pics remind me so much of the King William neighborhood near DT San Antonio. Nice to see these little pockets of goodness springing up. Much luck and support to them.

  5. Melissa K. says:

    This is the first time I visit this site and it’s such a great idea! I have yet to try either place, but I’ve heard amazing things about Caffe Dolce. It seems like the perfect lunch spot for people who work near the downtown area.

    I haven’t checked yet, but have you posted up any other restaurant reviews? I’m been dying for some new good eatin’ in Laredo! Great site!

    • Que Fregados says:

      I don’t usually do restaurant reviews but I do try to show downtown Laredo through my eyes – I love downtown. There was a Laredo food critique that ran a very successful Facebook page but then … he moved. He was pretty fair and gave both pros & cons. Caffe Dolce has added some delicious sandwiches and now has a broader selection of drinks. My favorite is the tuna, apple, cilantro panini – yum!!

      My other favorite restaurant is El Meson de San Agustin – delicious food at great prices but parking can be difficult sometimes and it is always packed!

  6. Pingback: Caffe Dolce for brunch | Que Fregados

  7. ___chato says:

    ___there is also a “Taco Palenue” downtown and we have done the McAllen (not so good) and the san antonio site (fair) de Tacos Panque

Leave a Reply

