Hints

I wish the Hints by Heloise column would have hinted at when Heloise would be in Laredo. I saw the ads in the Laredo Morning Times but I just plain old forgot. Had I followed my fellow Laredo resident and great commercial maker (remember the Kaleidoscoop radio spots?), Mr. Wilson Harris’, advice quoted below, maybe I would have been in the audience!

KITCHEN NOTEPAD

Dear Heloise: I have a small kitchen, so counter space is prime. My notepad was never in sight and always got moved around. I attached a blank page to the refrigerator door with a strong magnet at comfortable writing height. The top of the page folds down and is just stiff enough to hold a pencil horizontally. Now I have pencil and paper where I need it most! — Wilson Harris in Laredo, Texas

September 28, 2010, Washington Post’s Hints by Heloise column

For years I had wanted to send Heloise a tip for publication but… darn procrastination! What do you think? Would she publish it?

In college my roommates and I were L-A-Z-Y and we all were Latinas/os (mostly Mexican); not that one has to do with the other because obviously we were super smart scholars studying how to cure cancer and solve world hunger. Since we all used tortillas and no one wanted to heat up the apartment by putting the comal on the stove, I came up with the brilliant idea of putting tortillas in the toaster on the light setting.

You would need to use the corn tortillas that are a bit stiffer and larger than others because you don’t want it to soften so much that if folds and gets stuck in the toaster. For that a PLASTIC fork works wonders but… avoid getting it stuck in the first place. Flour tortillas work fine too but don’t toast them and because they are usually bigger than the corn ones – you will have to flip them over to the unwarmed side. Once warm, stuff with your favorite whatever and eat immediately!

Do you think this is why I haven’t found the cure for cancer or solved world hunger?? Ha!

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hints

  1. Chuck O says:

    Good idea on your tortillas. Not sure there is much difference on the amount of heat injected into living space however. Heloise probably gets hundreds (if not thousands) of good ideas. So chances are likely slim on getting printed. I have to wonder how many times the wheel must be reinvented. Surely the re-runs are huge.

    The cause in Laredo was good – a fund raiser for the community foundation that does good. The ballroom was pretty well packed. The program was interesting. Heloise was obvioiusly a good draw.

    • Que Fregados says:

      It was a tongue-in-cheek hint because… let’s face it, it is a little dangerous. I have burnt many a finger trying to fish out very soft tortillas. You are right, chances are whatever I submit won’t get printed therefore, I am printing it right here to make sure everyone has the burnt finger experience! HA!

      I’m glad you went – I wholeheartedly intended to go and that was why I had saved one of the early ads. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

