Historic political ad?

somewhere in downtown's historic district

Getting permission for any exterior change to homes in any of the historic districts in Laredo is a long process and honestly, a pain in the butt. I won’t talk about my woes with trying to get all permissions and the lack of continuity from the historic board – let’s just say that I have been getting permissions for more than a year and my contractor is still hanging on.

But at what moment did the historic landmark board give permission to paint a Wawi sign directly on a building? Was this in the approved color palette? Is this approved material? And aren’t these signs supposed to have a time limit after an election of how long they can be up? Does Wawi even know?

I just have questions, no answers.

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Historic political ad?

  1. BT Blues says:

    Well, I am afraid I have to point out a longstanding and historical tradition in Laredo: “Wawi” probably knows somebody who knows somebody who knows someone else who will look the other way when it comes time to any enforcement of such shenanigans.

  2. MaryHelen says:

    When will the “it’s not what you know, it’s who you know” insane mentality STOP?! My Libra sensibilities can’t stand when the scales of Justice are off-balance — and favoritism is the epitome of WAY off balance treatment!! Who’s gonna call Wawi?

  3. Poncho1950 says:

    Good ol’ Laredo. I can understand your frustration with trying to get things done; and yet I recall growing up in Laredo in the 1950s and 1960s, and walking home from St. Joseph’s Academy with schoolmates of mine who lived in the old barrio east of downtown, near the old Plaza de la Noria. I took the old charm of that neighborhood, with the high brick walls, stuccoed homes, narrow streets and semi-tropical gardens, for granted — that is, until they decided to drive that expressway through the heart of that district. They not only leveled the homes to put in the expressway, it forever changed the character of the blocks immediately adjacent to that zone.

    And don’t get me started on the travesties visited upon the Lake Casa Blanca area by those who thought it was their job to scrape the earth clean of vegetation.

  4. Ed Oviedo says:

    MaryHelen says:
    September 12, 2010 at 10:34 pm
    “When will the “it’s not what you know, it’s who you know” insane mentality STOP?! My Libra sensibilities can’t stand when the scales of Justice are off-balance …”

    Piques my interest, if a bit off topic, I’d like to conduct an informal survey on the crew QF. I, like MaryHelen, am a LIBRA. Unbalance and unfairness drives me and my life. Now, I am more of an astronomist than an astrologist, but I have had a theory for a while and I would most certainly be interested in discovering the birth months of YOUR contributors. My guess is that 78% + will have been born in the months of September to February. Now, those are 6 months and what would be expected would be 50%. Are you up for the challenge??? I will explain my theory, regardless of the results.

    • Que Fregados says:

      Sure – I know nothing about astrology nor what anyone signs are by their dates. It would be interesting. I have 2 posts to write first but… what exactly would you want to ask? WordPress lets me put up polls so it would be easy.

      FYI – Ed, I might have mentioned it before but not only are we the same sign but we share the same birthdate. Based on Facebook, you are probably 2 or 3 years older than I am.

  5. Keyrose says:

    Hello, my name is Keyrose and I am a Sagittarius. My favorite color is blue….

    What’s up with campaign signs going up on house/building walls? Looks freakin’ tacky. Guerilla campaign graffiti.

  6. Que Fregados says:

    Facebook comments:

    Elisa Gutierrez – I wonder if she knows about this and I wonder if she cares????
    This should not be allowed!!!!

    Dani Raschel Jimenez – Would like to know what the historic board says about this!

    Que Fregados – They probably got the standard $500 fine – IF the historic board officer caught it but… I doubt it.

    Que Fregados – I sent it to Wawi’s facebook page. I don’t know if she manages it herself or not but at least she will know.

    Elisa Gutierrez – In reality Laredo citizens ( especially our commissioners and city council members ) should abide by these ordinances and the city should regulate. Our city is one of the oldest in Texas and it seems we just don’t want to preserve. Other …cities BANK on preservation. They advertise as historic, legendary, antiquities etc.etc. and it attracts tourism. We need to get on the ball and start attracting tourism and make Laredo a modern but quaint town that it was. People go to olde towns to visit the by gone days and pay big bucks to do it. Can you imagine an olde town mercado, quitaristas playing on a corner, art galleries,museums, art colonies, mariachis on a Friday evening playing in the Plaza, an espanola dancing in a coffee shop, I can go on.
    Oh well enough said there is so much here and so much to do but without the backing of our respected commissioners and councilmen we won’t become a tourist attraction.

    Que Fregados – Elisa – I am all for revitalizing the downtown historic buildings. I have sunk in plenty of my meager savings into my own home while battling with the inconsistent responses from the historic board.

    This past week former columnist, Carlos …Guerra, made me think of something I hadn’t before. He said he was always a proponent of strengthening the community (through education, small business support, etc) instead of focusing on strengthening tourist stuff (hotels, attractions, etc). I thought of it when you talked about developing downtown for tourists.

    By a city focusing on tourist activities, you are then depending on disposable income of others. He was writing about the amount of near empty hotels in San Antonio and low skill staff now out of work. Interesting point. I had been meaning to write about all the motels for sale in Laredo – I think I will do that right now!

    Elisa Gutierrez – I understand your point but I struggle with the attitude of our city. And I wish more education would be available for those in our historic neighborhoods as yourself.
    Verification is need in what I have to say about this but I believe tha…t monies and or tax refurbishment is available to our historic neighborhoods. Did you know that???? There are incentives but are the people aware???? They don’t relay this message unless they don’t want the people to know. Quien sabe???? Its frustrating.

    Que Fregados – I had no clue! I only know of commercial incentives but not for residential properties. I try to stay in contact with the preservation officer and with community development and building but, I was not aware of anything. When I bought ho…use it had been abandoned for 2 years and needed major work so I took out a big chunk of a loan tagged on to my mortgage to make it livable. Again, my problem has not been restoring, it has been with the direction I have gotten. I am given permission to do X and then I am told I should not have done X – ugh.

    I have been trying to stay faithful to the original house but it has been a struggle. I really do wish there was stronger assistance from the city if it wants us to work on our homes rather than just let them deteriorate because of the roadblocks put up.

  7. Que Fregados says:

    2nd post Facebook comments:

    Jose A. Garcia – QF: I myself have been harping on the total disregard of a supposedly existing (??) ordinance on wall signs and what I call political graffiti. The election has come and gone and this is still up. Margarita Araiza, your thoughts on this. To Margarita: get out of your comfort zone and start doing something to protect our historic buildings. I believe it’s your job.

    Chuck Owen – I don’t know but seemed to me the political ad added a little life to this structure. ha.

    Jose A. Garcia – What, the paint held the bricks together? Little Monday morning fun…

    Que Fregados – Haha – you may be joking but that is the real case at my house!! The mortar is so old it is dusty. I was advised to only do spot repointing and just paint over it to stay in place.

    Ronnie Ramirez – Well, that’s not good. If the repairs need to be done… they should allow you to do the repairs correctly from the very beginning.. Oh well. that’s my 2 cents worth.

    Chuck Owen – I am of the view that we should only class certain buildings as historic. The rest should be razed and replaced with something practical.

    Chuck Owen sends
    Laredo, Texas
    …Even if someone else who should doesn’t, we can.

Leave a Reply

