Blood Reject :(

Woman waiting at the Telemundo Blood Donation van

The Telemundo Laredo Blood Drive is going on as I write. I went earlier today to give of the stuff surging through my veins, but… I was REJECTED AGAIN.

I figured I have to start giving back since I have so many other people’s blood coursing through my body after I don’t know how many transfusions. I used to be a regular donor but then I had more and more hoops to jump through.

On antibiotics – reject
Just got a tattoo – reject
Traveled to Durango, MX – reject
Got a piercing – reject
Didn’t eat nor sleep well – reject
On blood thinners – reject

And today I was happy that these past hoops had been jumped when they pricked my finger and came back to tell me… I am anemic and unfortunately they cannot take my blood which is a nice way of saying: REJECT!

Oh well, at least I tried. If you haven’t lately, consider it. You might save a life, like donors in the past saved mine :).

Vodpod videos no longer available.

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Blood Reject :(

  1. MaryHelen says:

    QF, you are an inspiration to me.

    Just thought you’d like to know….

  2. chendito says:

    The thought is what counts QF. I work for the Blood and Tissue Center of Central Texas in Austin, and what we do is encourage deferred donors to spread the word (looks like you have). I’m not sure if S. Texas BTC does it, but have you thought about volunteering in a different capacity? We have volunteer drivers to pick up at blood drives, or to register donors. How about holding a blood drive? It would be great if all the Laredo blogs that be can get together and make it happen. Just a thought. šŸ˜‰

    • Que Fregados says:

      Hmmm… good idea except – I asked the 2 guys who were giving & taking my info and they said they drive in from San Antonio. Still something to ask about, though.

      Maybe through one of my organizations we can organize a blood drive but I doubt Laredo Bloggers can do it because we don’t have a physical space. That doesn’t mean that the bloggers can’t come together to promote one particular blood drive, right?

  3. rick78 says:

    Great idea and agree with Mary Helen . I too can not donate for the immune suppressive meds that I take.

  4. david michel says:

    people are stupid

  5. Carlos Garcia says:

    Everybody knows that if you have a tatoo you can’t donate blood.

    • Que Fregados says:

      Yes, you can – it just has to not have been recent. I think you have to wait like a year to make sure you didn’t get hepatitis or some other disease that would make a difference to the person who receives the donation. This is something you learn, not something that everybody “knows”.

Leave a Reply

