Well wishes to those celebrating Ramadan

Today begins the Muslim time of Ramadan so to all my peace-loving Muslim friends I wish you the best. If you don’t think there are peace-loving Muslims in Laredo, you are just missing out on getting to know an interesting and unique culture.

I was surprised and smiled the other day because someone asked if Catholics had too much influence in the federal government and our society. Because Laredo is a little isolated from other areas – 3 hours to get to any other big city – I think there is a perception that what is majority here, is majority elsewhere. If you didn’t know, the U.S. is still a predominantly protestant Christian nation. Wow, those church history and Catholic social studies classes in school really paid off 🙂

As for me, i still remain a non-believer but willing to listen to the beliefs of others. I do have to respect and admire a group that can fast and pray for a month. Although… just like other faiths, you have those that are Muslim in name only. I still wish you the a good month, though.

(if your culture is celebrating something in Laredo, email me. I think we should all know what a variety of people we have in Laredo.)

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Well wishes to those celebrating Ramadan

  1. Anonymous says:

    Very nice post. Although I am not Muslum, I know a few in Laredo who are. I want my kids to learn to celebrate diversity, and in Laredo that can be hard to find at times. Those who are diverse often find Laredo a hard place to live and find acceptance. Thank you for celebrating the diversity that Laredo does have. And a blessed Ramadan to all.

  2. ___ahammmm says:

    ____i am so thirsty

  3. Me says:

    I recently read on AOL homepage that the president puts his support behind plans to build an Islamic center near site of 9/11 attacks in New York City. It’s so very sad to see all the negative feed back from a recent posting. 90% of of the 32,000 that took the poll oppose it, what happened to religious freedom? We live in such a sad world. Let me extend also my hand and well wishes to ALL our Muslum brother and sisters

Leave a Reply

