Talking about water…


I’ve had this post in my drafts for a loooong time. I was hoping to interview Mr. Rene de la Viña who is one of the people involved in helping organize the Laredo Scuba Diving Club Los Catanes.

Yes, readers, a SCUBA DIVING CLUB. That is just too cool!

I have not had a chance to talk with the organizers other than to ask if I could use their photographs but my friend who is a formerly certified scuba diver sent me some info about this group.

So I asked him for a simple quote and he says:
“Many people say there are no things to do here in Laredo, but there are. It’s just a matter of getting in touch with others so that events and clubs, like the Laredo Scuba Diving Club, can be brought to life.”

Of course, that was after he said, “We have battled catanes as large as (deleted because I will be accused of being mean to this person again – ha!)…” and the reason I won’t use his name. He made me laugh though, so I had to include it.

Their website is fairly new and a work in progress but check out some of their photos below. None of these were taken in our Rio Grande during a flood – they travel to better, more interesting and much clearer waters for exploration 🙂

This could have been caught in our river!!! Some day I will tell you the stories of the river monsters we have in our Rio Grande.

And the group so far:

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Talking about water…

  1. rick78 says:

    Very cool !

Leave a Reply

