Readers from the midwest to the west

Que Fregados is read in the midwest and in some parts of Mexico – but those are all my relatives, childhood friends or college friends (in other words, people I know). I received a nice surprise when an email came in to quefregados@gmail.com from California! This wonderful woman keeps me up to date with interesting stories – unfortunately, I have been short on time and can’t keep up but this was a bit of her first letter:

I came across your blog a couple of months ago when I was googling “fregado”. (I wanted to make sure I was using it correctly. My ex-esposo, who was here from El Salvador just two years when I met him in 1987, told me it meant “wiped out” in the sense of exhausted. But since expressions mean different things in different countries, and I don’t want to offend my next door neighbor Maria Lupe, who is Mexican, I asked my ex-cuñada about this at the Dia de La Madre celebration, and she assured me that I could use “fregado” when I’m talking with Doña Lupe. I had feared that it might translate to “f—-d up.” Short story long, that’s how I happened onto your blog.)

What hooked me when I saw your blog was your concern about your family and the funny, sweet photo of them with paper bags over their heads and the dog sitting facing them.

I enjoy your writing and reading about life in Laredo. (I’ve only been to Texas twice — briefly, many years ago. In 2008, I volunteered here at the phone bank for Obama, and during the primary we made a lot of calls to Corpus Christie and Galveston. We got quite an earfull in some of those conversations.)…

All the best to you and keep up the good work.

Thanks Risa de Angel!!

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Readers from the midwest to the west

  1. Risa de Angel says:

    ¡El placer is mio! I love your blog. (Next thing I need to confirm the meaning of is “guacatelas.” I’m clueless.)

  2. ____”fregado” can also mean “f****d up”, sorry, but it has many meanings . . .

Leave a Reply

