Our own leaning tower?

Is it my imagination or does the St. Agustin Clock Tower lean a little to the South?

I don’t want to start any rumors or for people to assume I am saying it definitely without-a-doubt leans. I just hope that someone “in the know” answers the question for me.

For years I have driven by the cathedral and only the tower looks like it tilts slightly. I know tall buildings can trick our eyes – after all, I grew up standing next to and looking straight up at the Sears Tower (uh, sorry, the newly named Willis Tower) and feeling dizzy as it looked like it would fall on us. So because I don’t own a gigantic level, the only way I could show you what I mean is by finding something straight to compare it to. What do you think?

First I compared it to the electric pole and although the tower does show a slight lean, light poles are not that reliable reliable

I compared it to a 2nd unreliable light pole - it still leans in the same direction. Notice how the line of space peeking between pole and tower gets narrower as it goes up, even though the tower has little tiers that should make it smaller at the top. Hmmm...

If we compare building edge to building edge - hmmm... still doesn't line up. It helps if you click on it to see the larger view and zoom in.

In this last view from the front of the building - it STILL looks like it leans slightly to the South. So is it my imagination?

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Our own leaning tower?

  1. MaryHelen says:

    Looks to me like it’s leaning all right. Good eye!

  2. Fito says:

    Most tall bldgs have a little lean
    the prevailing breeze is one issue
    foundation is another
    if you look at the front gate area
    there is some patching to hide a seperation crack

    • que fregados says:

      Really? I will take a closer look next time I visit. I had heard about the parking lot and what you say makes sense too. Glad smart readers check out this blog 🙂

  3. Fito says:

    Also
    the south parking lot is literally full
    of dead folks. The many burial sites dug within proximity of the tower contributed towards the
    weakness

  4. rick78 says:

    All along the river the soil is weak. Behind the orphanage on the Zapata highway there is a lot of red dirt along the banks very fertile and soft that came from up north .

  5. que fregados says:

    From Facebook:

    Erika – I’ve always seen it in a diagonal!!!! So I’m not crazy, or at least the only one to notice this!:)

    Jesse – yes it leans… stop asking questions.

    Erika – O_o OMG!

    Hilda Negrete – I had never noticed it. But, someone should check it out! lol

    Norma – It’s been that way for years!

Leave a Reply

