Latino military recruitment

I’m not sure how I feel about this – it suggests our colonized collective culture might make Latino recruits to the US military more… obedient? Would that be the description?In my personal opinion, the solution to the need for more military recruits would be in the reduction of forces and not the seeking of fresh blood. Just my personal opinion. War is a waste of resources when we have so many domestic issues to address.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Latino military recruitment

  1. The truth says:

    War is a necessity. Soldiers are heroes. Its their decision. If you have never severed, don’t comment. When you have lived it…you have a earned a right to share an opinion.

    • que fregados says:

      You missed my point and I do have a right to share an opinion. My tax dollars pay into the system that gives me the right to have an opinion. You, OF ALL PEOPLE, know I have much respect for soldiers and those in service.

  2. rick78 says:

    I beg to differ The truth ! The ongoing wars are not a necessity it is a waste of US young lives. My dad served honorably in the Korean war and I wanted to be like him and serve as well he convinced me not to join. He never elaborated his reasons but in those times Hispanics were treated very badly . Segregation in the armed forces was still being done .
    Look at the Zoot suit riots in California during WW II the military started it . Hispanic civilians were treated horribly by our own US soldiers!
    The Vietnam war a huge waste of funds and LIVES !
    My son despite two ongoing wars and my strong objection joined the Marines . Thank God he made it a safe return home and is out of the Marines !
    Quefregados did not mean disrespect to our service persons but the last wars are a waste of LIVES !
    Egotistical people like you is what gives the military a bad rep. At work most of the military vets were like hens and that is how you guys are trained nowadays the hell with the military !

    • que fregados says:

      Thank you, Rick78. I know this guy – he just likes to spew anger when things don’t go his way. He has some major unresolved issues but he is entitled to his opinion.

      People who serve deserve our utmost respect. I just think “the truth” wanted to lash out and not really look at the question behind WHY they are serving.

      This video was actually well received by both right & left – it doesn’t mean that they liked it, just that it was neutral with information.

  3. rick78 says:

    A true soldier will not boast and respects those who did not serve. My dad won several medals for his service but upon returning home he tucked them away in a shoe box.
    Until now I have retrieved them and also my son won several medals in the Marines has followed suit as my dad in not boasting about them or speaking about his service ! These are qualities a true soldier will do and not boast or condescend those who did not serve !
    So The Truth are you a true soldier or a HEN ?

  4. rick78 says:

    The terminated UISD educator Phillip Dyer never boasted about his college degree as most Laredo educators do. I had to ask him what type of degree he had and he reached to a file cabinet at his home revealing itb was a master’s degree.
    Then in the same file drawer he pulled out an honorable military discharge certificate .
    Advised me that was his biggest accomplishment he earned but never condensed me for not serving. If anything he stated had fun even being humorous about serving never acting egotistical !

    • que fregados says:

      I just saw that they settled with him. I drafted a post about Mr. Dyer but don’t have time to finish it this morning. I have a leadership presentation to go give but hope to send it out later today.

Leave a Reply

