Sheriff makes some changes

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about "improvements to webb county jail", posted with vodpod

At a March 17th meeting, we heard about all the wonderful changes using forfeiture monies that the current Sheriff Martin Cuellar implemented, included the previously mentioned elevator repair from a previous post. Woohoo!! Lots of good stuff, even the uniforms despite the easily-confused-with-Border-Patrol-new-jackets.

Well, surprise, surprise, I also heard at this gathering that the sidewalk curbs outside the Sheriff’s offices were going to be fixed! YAY!! I still don’t know if it is county or city responsibility since it is a sidewalk but the 100% thing I am sure is that it is not-ADA compliant because someone in a wheelchair cannot get in without being lifted. I haven’t searched the county or the city’s sidewalk fixing plans but since it was announced at a public meeting, I am guessing it will be happening. Nothing like seeing it in black & white, though.

I wasn’t a fan of former Sheriff Rick Flores and am not a fan of Sheriff Martin Cuellar (public speaking is NOT his forte) but I respect their work. Maybe I am just a grumpy old lady who is not a fan of anyone 😛 It is a big job that they have and I believe they try to do their best. Oh, and a note to the PIO who was doing the presentation – uh, it is so NOT a good idea to say “It helps to know Henry Cuellar, right?” when you are referring to the latest changes that Sheriff Cuellar implemented in the Sheriff’s offices and jail. That people are always suspect of elected officials is bad enough but implying corruption in public is … no comment.

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sheriff makes some changes

  1. MaryHelen says:

    I’m also happy to know that monies are going into maintaining the important requirements such as security measures and basics like sidewalk upgrades. At least, Sheriff Cuellar is showing us the improvements through the media so that we can all be better informed.

    BTW, I’m enjoying your blog immensely!

    • que fregados says:

      Thank you very much! I try to post at least once a day and I used to have more time to post more before but… different assignments & different access to the internet take me back to only once a day. Let me know if you have a topic you want covered. quefregados@gmail.com 🙂

  2. Gaby says:

    Hey, what about the sidewalks all over Laredo? In my neighborhood. I dare not walk anywhere because there is a lack of sidewalks. Try pushing a stroller with a small child inside in the middle of the street! I guess only those that live in the north have sidewalks.

    • que fregados says:

      Gabs, trust me, I have brought the issue up before. Check out some of my early, early blogs about the sidewalks of downtown. I had 1) written to my councilwoman 2) wrote letter to the editor 3) talked to community development 4) talked to engineering 5) asked for sidewalk fixes at town hall meetings. I keep bringing the issue up over and over. At least my sidewalk is on the capital improvement plan but I would suggest you talk to your councilman. See what he plans for your walkways.

  3. Pingback: Trial Lawyer | Que Fregados

Leave a Reply

