If you are reading this, you were just touched by social media

The Que Fregados blog is on the go and LATISM (Latinos in Social Media) conference in Houston is our next destination! I know most readers of this blog don’t know me but for some reason, you are still reading this little blog. I have considerably slowed down after starting my small, tiny, microscopic business that takes up quite a bit of my time. Even though I am not posting daily, you would be surprised at the number of readers who check in every day. One of these days, I might share my stats, one of these days.

LATISM12
Unfortunately, in Laredo, social media often goes unrecognized for the impact it truly has on our daily lives. Even those without access to the internet are sometimes heard saying, “Pues mi amigo vio en Twitter, Facebook, Google+, MySpace, blogs, email, etc. …” (well my friend saw on Twitter, Facebook, Google+, MySpace, blogs, email, etc. …). So if national media is telling us of the shift in how we consume information and keeps telling us that we (us commoners – ha) are generating the information faster than regular media, why not attend a conference to help me understand the cultural shift a little more?? Right?

I did invite fellow local bloggers to attend LATISM but most of us are employed full-time and have a hard time getting away; but, I’ll be repping the LRD and schmoozing with others who make social media their careers, including blogger buddy Juan of Words whose background reminds me of mine and who encouraged me to attend. He can chastise me in person for run-ons and starting sentences with “and” :).

Because Latino Social Media day was October 10th, a couple local bloggers and I had wanted to help shed a little light on how we are moved by social media. Unfortunately time ran out but you will be hearing from us soon – either on KLNT on 1490am (thank you, Richard, for showing interest in interviewing us!) or when we organize a little shindig to hopefully encourage other voices in Laredo to share their perspective using a blog format.

It is not a stretch to tell you that even today, those on social media shared the common theme of cell phone and internet problems. It’s causing frustration that was vocalized on Twitter, Facebook and I am sure in other ways. Not all the information is accurate but at least someone, somewhere is asking the question and sharing what they know. Check out a few entries:

So if you are so inclined and want to join in on how sharing via social media, is caring, consider the Latinos in Social Media conference coming up October 25 – 27, 2012 in Houston. If not, pues, ni modo, voy sola.

Hopefully I will be able to write about some interesting projects I am working on like the Inside Out Project (1st photo shoot this Saturday at the SIFE Bazaar at the French Quarter), Laredo’s Zombie Walk, Comadrazo (tonight), and the UFO Conference. Maybe, just maybe, I can also tell you about some of the stuff taking place in Laredo – darn this schedule of mine, though!!

LATISM12
About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

