Uy, cucuy…The Eye speaks

A reader from Corpus shared the following video challenge for all of Laredo. A ver que tan cierto es… my guess is, probably not but it is fun to imagine.

Considering that the video only has 4 views, I imagine my fellow bloggers also have this link sitting in their inboxes? Sepa. Anyway, I am probably the pollyanna of the group of local bloggers (BOLAS) so it is fitting that I help distribute it. No, it isn’t me offering the $10,000 reward but I DO expect that people do their best, take responsibility and create the kind of city they want to live in.

FYI: Not to be confused with the Sheriff’s EyeOnLaredo iPhone app or the other Eye something or other Laredo on Facebook. Laredo seems to have eyes everywhere, huh? Oh, how easily I am entertained :).

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Uy, cucuy…The Eye speaks

  1. I’m delighted that you have found my message and Challenge so quickly.
    Yes, the Challenge is real.
    Yes, the money is real, too.
    I am real, but more importantly so are the people of Laredo.

    I’ll be waiting and watching.

    • Que Fregados says:

      So… first come, first serve? Just kidding. I don’t need monetary incentives to try to do right by any community I live in, we should do it because we care. Good luck getting whatever it is you want – as long as you aren’t hurting people along the way, Mystery Eye :P.

      • And you are doing you part, which makes a difference. I thank you so.
        The money will come when action happens; good progress and prosperity for all.
        You will hear from me frequently.
        Whether the total will be given or divided into many is to be said and done by Laredo.
        I promise, I am friend of this beautiful city and a resident myself for many, many happy years. There will be no harm, nor should anyone harm anybody for the money.
        This is a call for progress.
        The right step for everyone.

        Let’s take the steps, Laredo.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Keep your money. Laredo is not going to change. The Helicopters are gone…no more noise… the people are happy in their ignorance and curbside tires. All is well. :)

    • Anonymous says:

      People like you make me sad :(

    • Are you negativity incarnate or what? The helicopters are “limited duration” training exercise, they weren’t/aren’t supposed to be here forever. And hey, some of those tires can be quite decorative but why not do like el compa over at LaSanbe.com does, he actually goes around picking them up to HELP instead of just complain.

  3. Poncho1950 says:

    The Eye has a very high opinion of itself. No self-esteem issues here, unless one can OD from it.

  4. I am glad that I have gathered some attention.

    All too true. Now think of the Great Oz himself; simply a man behind a curtain. I am the exact same way. However, instead of a control panel, I have a window. I was born, raised, and educated here in this beautiful city and throughout my life I never left Laredo. I served Laredo at a big portion of my life; how exactly I cannot say due to the possibility of discovering my identity. My life here in this city has been nothing short of pleasant, even throughout the worst situations and disasters. This is our home and soon enough you will see the man behind the curtain.
    I chose to do this behind a symbol. Why? Humanity has it that a face and a name will be judged, and though there’s nothing wrong with using judgement my message would have probably gone as far as my front door. Anyone can choose a symbol, be a symbol, voice a symbol, and it will gather attention. You’re talking about me right now. I could not have done this as anonymous as that name has become a negative symbol for many people too. I understand that it may be intimidating and perhaps threatening to some, but my symbol is a universal one and the one I feel best represents my life with this city; a watchful eye over a gem of South Texas (I also hand drew it myself yesterday, so the Illuminati/Satanic claim is rather ridiculous).

    My Challenge is real because I believe. There are people who do great things for others as careers and out of their hearts. The beauty of this city, its culture, and its people are shining out, but at times we let them become shadowed in negativity. Though you don’t need to be a firefighter to be a hero to somebody. The small things we do in this world add up to a big picture. The money I have presented is an incentive, not a bribe nor payment. People in Laredo do more than their calling and out of their hearts; and I’m reaching out to those with a simple gift that sends the most powerful words anyone can say to a good deed: “Thank You.”

    Who am I to be doing this? I’m a Laredoan, born and raised and nothing else matters. I see beyond the stapled image that others have plastered and look into the thriving, moving, and caring lives of this busy city. I am a working, busy individual who cares for the city he lives in and frequents downtown with his computer. I’m not hiding in a tower anywhere, I’m active and always about the beautiful city of Laredo. Many of you see me every day.

    Why am I doing this? Because I love Laredo.

    You will hear from me soon.

  5. The Detective says:

    When I upload a video to Youtube, the first few views happen during the uploading process. Whoever emailed you this video made it.

    • Que Fregados says:

      Yeah, except it’s also a new account. Besides, I don’t think anyone really cares – no gravitas. Now… if it were the MacArthur award…

      • The Detective says:

        I care! This person, whoever he or she is, obviously wants to help the city and I’m all for it. It’s a pity nobody else cares.

        • Que Fregados says:

          I’m glad you care but… the eye and his/her approach is self-important. It intentionally is drawing attention to itself and dangling money as a carrot-stick. To me (again, my opinion), it is a little juvenile. It is a sit-back “because I am the almighty judge who can toss money as a reward” attitude that just rubs me the wrong way.

          Gravitas defined: http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/gravitas

          Instead of sitting and “watching” who is deserving of his/her money, why is the eye not pitching in to actually DO something. Every day hundreds of unrecognized acts of kindness occur in Laredo (and a lot of self-serving fake ones do too – ugh) but the eye is really looking for some big show public change. If s/he really wanted to put out a challenge, he should check out other models like this TED one I hope enter: http://www.thecity2.org/projects/new or simply Make a Difference Day: http://makeadifferenceday.com/ (but those tend to be one time, feel good projects that don’t create true change in policy or culture).

          So go ahead and care, Detective. I do but I don’t go for manipulative, anonymous videos trying to gain attention. Is it fun to look at and consider – sure – but there are better uses of someone’s time. Nothing against the eye, just not an approach that will attract serious change-agents.

  6. Que Fregados says:

    I blog about a lot of things going on in Laredo. Just because I featured the Mami Chulas video does not mean I go there. But I do wish the eye well. My opinion in this matter in not of consequence to him or her. There are tons of activities that I think are inefficient and ineffective, it doesn’t mean I don’t hope that they touch someone or start something better.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Eye or no Eye… Laredo will never change.

Leave a Reply

