Busy weekends in Laredo

Who said there was nothing to do in Laredo?  Granted, it might not all be your taste but hijo’e’su this has been a busy weekend.

ImageI was really hoping to catch the Laredo Theater Guild’s Cinderella yesterday but… these 12 hour days get in the way.  I hear it is great so be sure to catch it tonight at 8pm or the Sunday show at 3pm at TAMIU!

Instead, I spent my Friday cleaning my refrigerator because the aforementioned 12 hour work days got in the way of my bill paying juggling act.  Ugh.  Turns out I paid my store’s electric bill twice and did not pay my house bill so even though I said “but I have a confirmation number,” electric company still left me in the dark with a water mess under my fridge, sigh.  I was sad and stressed, pero ya paso.

That also meant no Laredo International Sister Cities Festival on Friday for me.  I keep watching all the photos of the Sister Cities’ event on Facebook and I so want to be there so if not Friday, not Saturday, I still have hope for Sunday – the last day these vendors from Laredo’s sister cities (majority being from the interior of Mexico) from 10am to 5pm.

My Saturday morning started early by catching the Laredo Farmers Market at Jarvis Plaza.  I got a chance to see part of the cooking demonstration put on by Caffe Dolce and chit chatted with loads of people before heading out to… you guessed it… go to work for a few hours.  My break is short as I write this because I am preparing for another Laredo event – the OIL Muzik Festival in downtown Laredo by the beautiful Center for the Arts.  The description and line-up goes something like this:

1st Annual Oil Muzik Festival! Express yourself July 21st, 2012 in Downtown Laredo. The streets of downtown will close to bring you the best in Hip-Hop, Rock, Trance, Electro, Dub-Step…. Get ready to PARTY! 

ALL AGES ARE WELCOMED. 

Line Up:
Kirko Bangz
Play n Skillz
Booth Pimps (8 Djs)
Chingo Bling
Automatic Weekend
Randy Tate
Pretty Visitors
and much more…

Don’t ask what a viejita like me is doing there.  All I can tell you is that I do like Somewhere in Between but have no clue who the other performers are.  

ImageNormally, I would have been ringside at the Laredo Wrestling Alliance event but… duty calls for the OIL Muzik Festival.  But if you are up for some slamming professional wrestling, check out LWA at the American Legion at 6:30pm.  Tickets are only $5 and you get a chance to see the incomparable legend Luke of The Bushwhackers.  I’ll be meeting up with him at a later time for a Q&A – woot woot!

This writing a blog post on my phone is – excuse the ancient expression – is for the birds.  I will add links or photos later since I cannot do it cleanly from my phone and… I’m running late for my volunteer duties!

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Busy weekends in Laredo

  1. Tom says:

    I am always amazed at those who say there is nothing to do in Laredo. Those comments usually come from those that require three things no matter where they go, or what they partake in as entertainment, beer, barbeque, beer. That is their whole life. I do not listen to them anymore.

  2. Sounds like a fab weekend!!!! Wish we were there to enjoy it!

  3. Hoodlum says:

    WOuld be nice to have more rock festivals seeing as Autmus fest has been taken over by the tejanitos.

Leave a Reply

