Big Lots of Virginidad

Another Big Lots discount store opens on the Northside of Laredo, but our local NBC affiliate already told you that.


I had photos of its progress but sometimes… getting things out on time is a challenge. For some reason, despite being on their list of “people who furnish their homes with Big Lots items” (as you already know, I am also on the local flea market, yard sale, thrift store, dumpster dive lists :P Ha.) and having their BuzzClub Rewards tarjeta, I didn’t get invited to the opening. Boo. Maybe they knew I was in Miami on that day?

Regardless, as a Big Lots shopper, I will be keeping my keen eye on both stores. I’ve gotta see which offers the best deals for cost-conscious (aka, tacaƱa like me) customers. I wonder if they will have more Virgen de Guadalupe (Our Lady of Guadalupe) between Nitwitz Kooky Bananas candy and Boston Baked Beans – which I hope is also candy.

The bottom row of vending machines at the Big Lots on Saunders Street, Laredo, Texas

Hopefully they can expand beyond hematite. And if you are wondering, yes, I bought not just one, but a few. Love the kitsch.

The top row of vending machines at the Big Lots on Saunders Street, Laredo, Texas

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Big Lots of Virginidad

  1. Bertha says:

    Wonder if it’s still a “handful” like I used to know ……for .25 cents…..

  2. Poncho1950 says:

    What’s the Mexican slang equivalent of “tchotchkes?” My amigo salvatruchas uses the word “chunches.”

  3. I’ve never heard the word “tacana” (misspelled, I know)… I’ve never been to Big Lots but I’m looking forward to checking it out!

Leave a Reply

