Feliz Día del Amor y la Amistad

Don’t get all anti-Valentine’s Day on me. I still celebrate Valentine’s Day, a la Mexico (and many other Latin American countries) style – in other words, I celebrate my friendships and love in general with el Día de Amor y Amistad (Day of love and friendship). I will not succumb to any of this must-have-a-special-someone-and-buy-all-kinds-of-unnecessary-stuff pressure. No siree, Bob.

Today, I received a beautiful surprise from an old friend. She scanned a card I had made for her in 2000 and told me how much it had meant to her. It warmed my heart to know that my friendship was valued and that I was a part of her life, even after all these years. We may live hours away from each other now but we still have contact. And for those reminders of amistad, I am grateful.

We live in a border town, celebrate el Día del Amor y la Amistad. And if you happen to have a significant other, don’t forget to remind him or her that you love ‘em – you don’t need much more. El Partner and I have promised to just hang out with each other, nothing lavish or extravagant and definitely no spending money that we don’t have. It will be a celebration of our friendship :).

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Feliz Día del Amor y la Amistad

  1. Ed says:

    LOVE it Q F. Feliz Día del Amor y la Amistad!

  2. Keyrose says:

    Shout out to Charles Grodin! G’day.

  3. tricia says:

    I think that’s a great idea- to bring up a homemade memento…very nice idea. I agree. I’m so bad at holiday sentimentality (unless it’s to build memories for our kids). But, we did celebrate in our own way. We made those rainbow cupcakes. :)

  4. Very beautiful idea. I love the way you are taking it. No pressures! Feliz dia del amor y la Amistad.

  5. Que Fregados says:

    Reblogged this on Que Fregados and commented:

    January 1, 2010 was the start of this here lil blog. So – happy new year to all and happy anniversary to me last month. Yes, I know my blogging has been spotty.

    It isn’t that I don’t have stuff rolling around in my head. Those of you who know me personally know that I try to keep up with the goings-on in Laredo and carry my camera everywhere – the issue is time, time, time. Much has changed since my wheelchair-bound days and the biggest change has been the start of my little business and increase in responsibilities. One thing I have discovered is that I suck as a businesswoman but it is getting better. El Partner is now my ex-partner but he is still a great friend and supporter. Today I celebrate our friendship and all those who have shared their lives with me and let me into theirs. I am reblogging last year’s post because I still support el Día de el Amor y la Amistad.

    During the new year’s celebration, I had the good fortune to have my parents visit. Although it’s a month and a half old, here is a wish from my mom and me:
    https://vimeo.com/56674828

  6. Armando X. Lopez says:

    Happy dia de amistad!

  7. Poncho1950 says:

    Well said!

Leave a Reply

