Run, fight crime and be a designer!

I’m heading out to celebrate 30 years of the Laredo Crime Stoppers organization in town. Some guy named Gary Hobbs will be playing. Apparently a few friends are irked when I say that I have no clue who he is – sorry Tejano/Country fans, I need music education of all kinds.

It’s a small event, very law enforcey-type event, but just thought you might want to know that for 30 years, regular joe schmoes have run a group to protect your identity if you have a tip on a crime you might know about and keep winning award after award for their efforts. Good job, eagle eyed Laredoans!

After all that celebrating and dancing (yeah, right – I’ve got two left feet and a cane that stop me), I’m not so sure I will wake up in time for an early morning run at 7am for the Laredo Next Generation Rotary Club’s annual RotaRun. If you are up for it, though, you can even register online and support the Rotary programs the Next Generation club plans.

I kid, though, I will be up that early but I cannot make the RotaRun. I’ll be heading out to learn and meet folks at the San Antonio Historic Home Fair. A ver que.

After I get back, though, I might start putting together my resume.
LareDOS newspaper is looking for a designer ASAP. I would need to brush up on my InDesign & Photoshop skills but… sigh, nevermind, not my field. But it might be just the break some talented Laredoan out there wants. This is the description Cristina sent me:

WE’RE LOOKING FOR A PART-TIME PAGE DESIGNER! LareDOS needs a designer who knows how to use InDesign and Photoshop to do part-time designing of our publication. Work hours pretty flexible, and a nice quiet working environment in downtown Laredo. For more info/to set up an interview, call (956) 791-9950 or e-mail meg@laredosnews.com.

The designer chosen won’t ever become filthy rich by working for LareDOS but you can’t beat the satisfaction in being able to contribute to Laredo’s alternative newspaper.

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Run, fight crime and be a designer!

  1. ___tejano tex says:

    ___why so Private / IF YOU GOT A TEJANO COUNTRY SUPERSTORE, YOUCAN RENT THE cASA Blanca, isell tickets and beer, invite the Politicos (esp. the Mayor and county judge) and make a lot of dinero for the Crime stoppers

  2. daisy says:

    and here i thought you watched last night’s episode of project runway -> http://hulu.com/w/899g

  3. Karla Maria says:

    OMG the really need a designer!

  4. Cristina says:

    Hey, hey now! Don’t discount the filthy rich thing… who knows what will happen in the future? :)

    Thank you so much, QF! We owe you one!

Leave a Reply

