Vote early or just plain vote

As I have stated before, this blog is not a political/candidate tool but I do encourage everyone to go out and vote their conscience. Reader and very involved local resident, Jsaz, posted the sample ballot on her facebook page. Check it out SampleBallots-11022010 (sorry it is so large, the ballot is only 8 pages but it copies to many more) before you go to vote early.

If you all HAVE to know, I am a fiscal conservative with a very liberal leaning. I know, sounds contradictory but it is not. My one and only support goes for Bill White for governor.

I was surprised at one local candidate, though. Mr. Manuel Arechiga Jr., running for city council District 6, posted an extremely negative ad of Gene Belmares. I am not a Gene supporter (nor am I a supporter of ANY mayoral candidate – Raul Salinas is a grandstanding ineffectual skunk, Jose Valdez seems a little weak and not taking anything seriously, Juan Ramirez is very focused on his projects and not the bigger picture, James Newland has no experience and Gene Belmares just seems sneaky and a bit arrogant) but the ad Mr. Arechiga posted was too much. Normally I would just delete things I don’t want reflected on my facebook wall but all I did was point out how negative it was.

Those who know me know I am not a neophyte in city council meetings and my involvement in the community but these assumptions he makes and the way he writes to someone who could be a constituent… yikes! This is one whiner that I was iffy about before but now definitely do not support. These were his responses:

Que Fregados – Wow, that is really negative.

Manuel Arechiga Jr. – The Truth Sometimes is. We can all be happy happy and never face reality if we like, but that gets us nowhere…

Que Fregados – While I am not a fan of Gene Belmares, your ad misleads and is purposely negative – not reality.

I think, if I remember correctly, that he was with WestWind Homes (not a shoe salesman) when he was elected to council. You pin all of El Portal on his one of several votes – that is also an exaggeration because it took several people to get it to happen. You also blame him for the Lamar Bruni Vergara (misspelled in your ad) home demolition when his friendship with the Khaledis is suspect, the demolition order was clearly the Khaledi family’s.

This ad does not paint you in a productive light at all.

Manuel Arechiga Jr. – I understand you recently moved to Laredo from up north. That may explain your lack of knowledge on local issues.

Que Fregados – You understand incorrectly. I am well aware of local issues.

Que Fregados – Don’t talk down to me, I have only pointed out your negativity. If you don’t know, don’t assume.

Manuel Arechiga Jr. – I’m sorry, what was your name? I don’t believe you have properly introduced yourself.

Que Fregados – My blog is run as my hobby where I write about what I want and not my political viewpoint, I choose to run it anonymously. If you read it, you would know and not ask for my name out of respect. YOU added me to your friend list. YOU posted on MY wall.

Manuel Arechiga Jr. – I’m sorry, and your name is?

Que Fregados – Again with the disrespect?

Not more than 1 minute ago, he again tagged me on a negative video. This man has no respect. I delete all posts to my wall that advertise and untag myself from jewelry sales, clothes sales, etc. but tagging with politics?? That is way way way too far. I will be flagging it as an inappropriate violation of Facebook policy.

Wow – I was just ready to post this and Mr. Arechiga tagged me on ANOTHER very negative video. If this is how he does business, how would he be in a city council seat?

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Vote early or just plain vote

  1. Christy says:

    and what your name? ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

  2. despeinad@ says:

    the guy is not getting my vote either — what a jerk

  3. kbinldo says:

    I saw that this morning, Que, when looking at my friends’ status filter & almost choked on my coffee!

  4. El mirón says:

    Rude, ignorant and unfocused. Not the type I person I would vote for.

    Keep doing your blog. I love to read it everytime I can.

  5. kbinldo says:

    FYI, he did it again. Yup, caught it in my friends filter on FB.

Leave a Reply

