Two explosions leave me wondering

This week has been a hard one for me because I have been sleeping so lightly. Last night, I was almost asleep when I first a big boom around 11pm – but not like the grenade boom. I checked on my phone to see if anyone else was commenting and as I was typing came another big boom.

It leaves one to wonder what is going on in Nuevo Laredo (because that is where I assume it came from).

This morning’s Laredo Morning Times tells us about Congressman Henry Cuellar’s “frank” talk with President Calderon about the violence. Joe Rutland had the following quotes in his story titled Brazen Cartels:

Cuellar returned Wednesday after a United States congressional delegation led by U.S. Rep. Silvestre Reyes, D-El Paso, visited Mexico City to discuss issues pertaining to border security and the Mérida Initiative. U.S. Rep. Ed Pastor, D-Ariz., also was part of the delegation.

“I don’t know why they didn’t take it seriously before,” Cuellar said of the border violence.

“Lately, drug cartels are going up to police outposts and shooting.

These people are getting very brave.”

When Calderón asked Cuellar where he was from, the Mexican president told him “they understand and are aware of these situations in Nuevo Laredo,” Cuellar said.

“There have been situations were we’ve caught the bad guys, put them in prison (and) then they get out quickly.”

Cuellar deemed his delegation’s discussions with Calderón “frank.”

The regular media has not commented on what the explosions were but I am assuming they were cartel fight related. I could be wrong. I will be keeping on eye out for what officials say it was. In the meantime, I am glad the delegation had a “frank” chat with Calderon, now let’s move on to chat that is effective. Innocent people are losing their lives daily.

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Two explosions leave me wondering

  1. rick78 says:

    Yes the violence in Mexico is horrific but the top leaders still in denial. Can’t tell who the bad guys are the military , federal ,state and local police all corrupt ! Then the Zetas all the same best thing to do is stay out of Mexico !

  2. ___Chato says:

    ___i was across last night, no oi nada . . .

Leave a Reply

