Big dreams from Golden Mesquite Films

The dreams of early youth should be stoked and nurtured… but dreams at my age are more, uhm, cherished. Yeah, I cherish having been a dreamer like the one I am about to describe.

I ran across the blog of a young person trying to follow her passion as a screenwriter. She calls it “Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Indie.” I liked it. Born in Freer, working in Laredo, and writing away to work on one of her films.

Our recent culture is one that likes to tear away at others, to rip them with criticism, to forget that we all deserve respect for our thoughts and moreso for the position of responsibility we might hold (those Tea Party haters are starting to tick me off – still hoping someone starts a Coffee Party in Laredo). I liked this woman’s blog, her enthusiasm and desire to work together for something. Her reactions to work as a server make me smile – I have never been one but I know it is one tough job. Although I am still confused if she is really married or has an ex-husband (she goes back & forth in her posts), it doesn’t take away from the refreshing look at life through someone’s eyes. Her writing transmits her smile so I thought I would share this with you. Hope she hasn’t given up on continuing her blog although… uhm, there are bloggers in Laredo that write for free so … good luck finding funding!

I don’t know her at all but I am assuming she wouldn’t mind if I shared her intro page:

Waitress Looking for Funding Blogs About Her Experiences

Hola, Howdy, or Hey, as I’m a Latina living in Texas in the good ol’ US of A.

So, I’ve written a screenplay tentatively titled AVENIDAS and I’ve recently quit my job to pursue directing this little gem. Yay for going after dreams! However, as I’m twenty-five-years-old, I’ve yet to amass a huge fortune investing in Fortune 500 companies, and I wasn’t born into a rich family. Therefore, I’m getting after it the old-fashioned way: looking for “angels” willing to lend money to an unknown screenwriter/director, all in the hopes of getting a leg up on my dreams.

In the meantime, I still have student loans to pay and rent for a Shetland pony that I can’t keep in my apartment. So I’m waiting tables at Logan’s Roadhouse to pay bills, but I’m also using my time there to pick up on the nuances of dialogue and practice character development.

Join me on my journey. Maybe I’ll inspire you to go after your dreams. Or maybe I’ll have such a hard time of it that you’ll think, “Screw that. I’m happy where I am. Food is good!” LOL

Whatever the case, I have no idea what’s going to happen on the way to the indie, but I imagine it won’t all be dull. Let the opening credits to this part of my life roll. :)

Ok, now back to being mean to people… haha, just kidding. I try not to be so negative, even when letting people know that I STILL hear shooting in Nuevo Laredo from downtown Laredo, but I just can’t help smiling at some of life’s daily “interesting” events.

About Que Fregados

Que Fregados is a quirky look at little things that strike us funny in Laredo and the unique Latino culture. Suggestions and comments are welcome. You can also email to quefregados@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

